Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very good. I swapped butternut squash for pumpkin and it came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I was surprised that the recipe didn't call for salt. Based on other reviewers' recommendations I ended up changing the recipe drastically, but the most important change was the approximately 3/4 tsp of salt I added. The raw batter was very bland until I added the salt, and I'm glad I taste-tested the batter before baking. However, this recipe was a good starting point for a basic healthy pumpkin muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Let me begin by saying after this recipe I will no longer trust the star ratings without reading the reviews! I feel compelled to share my experience on this one....I made very minor tweaks based on my pantry contents: whole wheat pastry flour, home-made pumpkin puree (not canned), brown sugar (instead of white), sweetened applesauce (b/c it seemed to lack the sweetness that my family prefers), and vanilla extract. I wish I'd only made 1/2 the batter instead of the full 12 cups, b/c they weren't even edible to me! I couldn't finish the one I "taste-tested". It was too "moist" I ended up cooking them for 45mins just to fix the gooey insides. They lacked flavor, sweetness, and presentation (look appeal). I had to doctor the second batch up with more brown sugar & cranberries so it would be edible. Oh, and I was only able to make a total of 16. I wont make these again, I'll stick to the Pumpkin Cranberry muffins, they're Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jckept

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I liked this and I added 1/4 cup of flax seed and when they were baked and still warm... I mixed 250g (1 pkg) of cream cheese, 1tbs of all spice and 1 cup of icing sugar and 1tsp of vanilla and filled the muffins using a cake decorator things
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
If you want to add a little bit more flavour, add some 1 teaspoon ginger, 1/4 teaspoon allspice, and 1/4 teaspoon cloves. It just adds a little bit more flavour to the muffins. I also added some bran to mine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Very bland... but if you are a diabetic then you will probably like them since you are not used to a lot of sugar. My 8 year old liked them !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Tasty, healthy muffin but a bit bland as other reviewers mentioned. I'll likely make them again as they were super-easy and quick to make, but will either amp them up with more spices or add either nuts or berries - maybe both walnuts and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and I found it to be a bit bland. I added some cinnamon and sugar to the top for my last 1/2 dozen, and even that didn't help. Maybe some dried fruit or a cream cheese topping would pump up the taste a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
UPDATE: Please read before making these muffins.... This recipe is truly for those of us who are diabetic, and/or are watching carb intake; because of the lack of added fat and the addition of the applesauce, the texture may take some getting used to. But for those of us who need this recipe to work, it certainly does. Per the reviews, I cut the applesauce in HALF, and doubled the spices. This took care of the "too moist" problem. I also added a tablespoon of ground flax seed for additional fiber. They were delicious. As stated, if you DON'T need to watch your fat, carbs, and calories please choose another pumpkin muffin recipe with full fat. For those of us who need this recipe, I, for one, was not disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States