Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
It is very difficult to find a recipe for whole wheat muffins that are moist and light. (I usually end up with a dense rock!) This recipe has everything I look for: 100% whole grains, low fat and low sugar content on top of great taste and texture. A keeper for sure! Thanks Robyn! P.S: The first time I made these I used paper liners and half of the muffin stuck to the paper, so be sure to use a non stick pan as indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This had a really nice aroma, but overall I was really disappointed with this one. I did use splenda, so maybe that did it. I might try one more time with a different sugar substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
I did not have whole wheat flour or almond extract, so I used white flour and vanilla. The recipie is great if you love the taste of flour. I added additional seasoning and pumpkin along with half a bag of mini chocolate chips, but it didn't help at all. Hopefully they are better with the wheat flour and almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
These muffins are really good! My modifications: Added 1/2 cup dried cranberries as one reviewer suggested, used Splenda instead of sugar, and used pumpkin pie spice instead of the combination of other spices. Delicious! I'm going to make another batch so I can use up the rest of the pumpkin - can't wait to have these for breakfast next week! I think I may add crystallized ginger this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I doubled the recipe so I could use a full can of pumpkin. But then I used only 3 c. applesauce and about 1/4 c. apple juice concentrate. They turned out pretty good. I might use more spices next time . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Very healthy breakfast food, easy to make. I think dried cranberries or cherries would liven this recipe up a bit but still keep them healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
These muffins are very moist, but I found them also to be very bland. I added the extra spices and vanilla and almond extract that some had suggested and still didn't get any flavor out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
These muffins are yummy...I ran out of pumpkin and used more applesauce and they still worked!! Would be a bit more interesting with cream cheese or cinnamon sugar on top though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
it's hard to tell when these muffins are done, because the center is still very wet when the top is nice and brown. Mine did not rise well at all, and the centers were almost mushy. Still, the flavor was good and they're so healthy that I will definitely try again. Add extra almond and vanilla extracts for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I would use less nutmeg next time. My husband and I thought they were pretty good, but our kids devoured them - especially when I topped them with peanutbutter. We avoid sugar so we substituted 2T applejuice concentrate for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States