Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
The first thing I noticed is that just about every person making these were changing the recipe to make them better so therefore they are not rating this specific recipe. I am only giving this recipe 3 stars because there are a few things I noticed that is a big no no. First for the perfect moist cupcake you should use oil instead of butter. While butter does taste better the oil will give it the moistness that is needs. The second thing was the ratio of pumpkin. I added an extra 1/4 cup because I knew it would need it. Also it does not matter whether or not the eggs are at room temperature. I use them straight from the fridge. Because I am adding extra pumpkin I just make sure that the spices are not level but instead are slightly mounded. One last thing that I add is 1/4 cup applesauce because that will also give them a great texture. To cook them, you should ALWAYS bake cupcakes at 350 degrees so they cook more evenly and then you should not bake them for 25 minutes, otherwise you will overbake them. I cook them for 19 minutes and they come out perfect. This recipe does have potential but I have created my own recipe since I have more then 10 years of baking experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
471 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
After following the top rated reviews I decided to make some of my own personal modifications. The result was the most MOIST, SPICY and DELICIOUS pumpkin spice cupcake I've ever had! First, I definitely replaced the butter for an equal amount of vegetable oil- BIG contributor to the moist factor. Second, I reduced the heat to 350 deg and cooked for 22 minutes, NO MORE! Third, wait for it... I DOUBLED the pumpkin, nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves. I know it sounds crazy but it contributes to the beautiful deep color I got and the spicy, full flavor. Fourth, I DOUBLED the frosting recipe. I had a bit leftover but when I tried the original recipe AS IS, it was not nearly enough. Fifth, I added an extra egg and did not worry about keeping them at room temperature. Mine came straight out of the fridge. This modified version was STELLAR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
mmmmmmmmmmm SO GOOD! will definately make again! followed the recipe exactly and they are delicious. and everyone loves them. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I just made these cupcakes and they were by far some of the best I have had in a long time. They taste and look like they were purchased from a cupcake store. I did however read a lot of the reviews, and took all the tips into consideration. Here are the changes I made for perfection: 1. Reduced Heat to 350 and baked 22 minutes. 2. Put 1 whole can of pumpkin puree (equals about 1 1/2 cups) 3. Used 1/2 cup vegetable oil instead of butter. 4. used "heaping" spoonfuls of the spice, and left out the clove. 5. used 1 tsp salt (instead of half) 6. For the frosting only used about 2 cups sugar instead of 3. I am already heading out to the store to buy ingrediants to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I am giving four stars based on the original recipe...my changes would boost it up to five. This is a great, basic pumpkin cupcake recipe as-is. However, as other cooks have commented, OIL is really what is needed to make a very moist and tender cupcake. Leave butter for your full-size cakes, bundts, and pound cakes (I even have certain bundt cake recipe that are all oil rather than butter.) I am not big on all the spices, so I kept it simple: 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice, that's it! This will sound crazy, but I also double the salt. Why? Because something magical happens when you add a hearty dose of sea salt to a spicy cake. I make a spiced applesauce bundt cake a few weeks ago, and the recipe called for 1 and 1/2 tsp. of salt. I was hesitant but made it that way anyway. It was UNBELIEVABLY good! Now I always double my salt when using cinnamon and other spicy ingredients in my sweet stuff. As for the sugar, I just did equal parts of white and brown. And I made cake flour instead of using all-purpose. This small change alone will make your cuppies very fluffy and moist. I used buttermilk instead of whole as that's what I had on hand. Buttermilk is great with pumpkin anyway. And as a few others did...I increased the pumpkin by 1/4 cup, and then I added another 1/4 cup of sour cream. It seems like a lot of moisture, but it really makes the cupcakes super moist. I made both large and small, all turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, which I NEVER do, but did this time, since I was making this to put out for Bunco night, and gatherings like that require full-fat goodies. Well, they taste delicious, but I found them to be a bit dry, so next time I will use oil instead of butter and moisten them up a little more with some applesauce! Good recipe, just not the ultimate- Yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
After MUCH searching for the perfect pumpkin recipe I think this one is close! I added a bit more cinnamon and clove and used "pumpkin pie" mix instead of puree. I also added an extra cup of the pie mix to make the cupcakes much more moist. they are perfect! Crunchy on the outside and VERY moist on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Kai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rittman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These cupcakes were so good! I did change a few things though, after reading some reviews. I replaced the butter with oil, and I doubled the pumpkin and cinnamon. I baked them at 350 degrees for 20 min. They were so moist and tasty and the cinnamon cream cheese frosting topped it off nicely. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
WHY ARE ROOM TEMPERATURE EGGS SO IMPORTANT? A typical step in a buttercake recipe is to cream with fat and sugar and then add in the eggs, one at a time. This creates an emulsion. Fat and liquid by nature are unmixable, and the goal when mixing a recipe is to form a water-in-fat emulsion. A well emulsified cake batter, for example, should not be curdled or weeping liquid, which happens if cold eggs are introduced to a room temperature butter/sugar mixture. If the emulsion breaks, the batter will loose air cells. This results in a baked cake that is grainy or flat in texture, dry and flavorless, look uneven and may even sink......This is why she used room temperature eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Great recipe. I used a whole can of pumpkin pie mix instead of just a cup. They were very moist and full of pumpkin flavour. Next time I will add a cup of crumbled pumpkin seeds to give it a bit of a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States