Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I made the mistake of not reading the reviews before trying this recipe. It seems like everyone said, "These are so good, BUT I made changes." I followed the recipe and did not make any changes. The result: a mild tasting cupcake. I thought 1 cup of pumpkin was too little, and I was right because the pumpkin flavor does not stand out, nor is it spicy enough for my tastes. So it was OK, but don't give 5 stars to a recipe that you had to "fix" in order to make better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Shut the front door!! These were perfect! I did replace the butter with oil in the mix. Left everything else just like it said. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
itw as so good. at first i didnt think the cupcakes were spicey enough then i made the iceing and topped them... yummmy! i used victoria style cream cheese which is just spreadable cream cheese though mmmm mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This recipe is right on target! Only tweak I did was to not sue the all spice. I never use all spice, I feel its too strong for me. Hope the leadership council at school like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnMarie
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These are the best pumpkin cupcakes I've made. I followed the recipe exactly as followed. I'm not sure why so many altered the recipe. The ONLY thing I changed is the baking time. I set the time at 20 minutes. They're perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
great festive cupcakes. A few changes made: oil instead of butter (better for moist cupcakes) cake flour (lighter cupcakes) and I added 2 Tbsp. extra since I live at altitude. added extra 1/4 cup of pumpkin and applesauce decreased cloves to 1/4tsp. Baked at 350 for 20min. Used maple frosting instead of cream cheese...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I substituted equal amount applesauce for the butter and used soy milk instead of dairy milk. I was generous with the spices and added some pecans to the batter. What a fantastic way to welcome autumn! They had great flavor and were wondrously moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this recipe several times. Everyone loved it, I even took them to work and didn't come home with any. My coworkers kept asking for more. My family absolutely loved them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
We made this recipe as written. It is "very good" but next time will cut the icing recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and wish I had read some reviews before I made them. True to all the reviews I thought they were a little dry and the texture more like a bread than a cake. If I ever make these again I will definitely add more pumpkin and spices. The cinnamon in the frosting didn't really add that much flavour and made the normally velvety smooth and creamy cream cheese frosting a bit gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States