Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
So I usually make cookies instead of cakes, but I wanted to try these. I started out with the original recipe, but when I started beating the butter, it looked wrong with what the description said it should look like so I started reading the comments. By then it's my own fault for how things don't go right, but I feel like I should still say: even with only half-way following the recipe, and trying to win ground by altering it by following other people's comments, these aren't THAT bad, and maybe the original recipe would have been good to follow with just the normal amount of tinkering. I mean, as far as the comments go, I think doubling the spices took things a little too far. I also think that doubling the pumpkin made them way too moist, to the point where they're not still doughy in the middle but they're kinda almost like that (you know?) and baking them for another couple of minutes doesn't quite make things right. So if you're going to alter the recipe, you might not want to do things quite so drastically. Take the comments with a grain of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
AWESOME recipe but like others I did modify it. I used a whole cup of pumpkin puree and less milk. My grandma and my boyfriend helped me make this (as I am only 17 and have no idea what I'm doing)and she suggested I add more cinnamon but I wanted to stick as close to the recipe as possible. I believe more cinnamon would have given it a more spicy feel but I love them anyway. The cream cheese icing was good to eat on its own haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tvan
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
First off, I'm generally not a fan of pumpkin anything but these cupcakes were quite the surprise to me. Unlike other reviewers, I had no problem with the moistness of the cupcakes having used butter. They were quite moist & light. I will say that I didn't use the suggested amount of sugar in the frosting because it was sweet enough before I used it all. I will use it all next time though because the consistency of the frosting was a little too runny. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I give these a 4 because I think this is a good starter recipe. I added a WHOLE can (15 oz or so) of pumpkin and heaping spoons of the spices. They turned out awesome. My boyfriend said they would have been better with some different texture like nuts but because I don't really like nuts in dessert I don't think I'll change that next time. Leftovers were still moist in the fridge 3 days later and it seemed like the flavor had gotten even more intense! Great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Followed recipe, they were a hit at the birthday party. Frosting is not too sweet and the touch of cinnamon was great. This recipe is a keeper for me. My cupcakes baked a little faster than the time given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Off the charts moist and delicious!! But, okay, I did change a few things. I simply replaced the butter with unsweetened apple sauce (something I do with virtually all recipes that call for oil or butter), I doubled the pumpkin and I used a bit more cinnamon. I also baked them at 350 for about 18 minutes and they were perfectly done! (This is one area that I felt was way off in the original directions. 375 is too high and 25 minutes would have meant very burnt cupcakes for me!) With these changes, they were perfect!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Perfect! Only change was I didn't do cream cheese frosting because my kids don't love it. Otherwise we loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buddy Irwin
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I just finished making these cupcakes.WOW! I adjusted the recipe for 36 cupcakes because I like to make a big cupcake. They are great!! I used oil instead of butter because I think they are more moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buddy Irwin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is the first time making this recipe. They came out wonderful! Pumpkin flavor was spot on and the cakes are moist. I didn't modify this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHPFVR
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I'm only rating this recipe as a 5 because I made the all adjustments from DelightfulDines rating comments. I think these are hands down the best cupcakes I ever had! My dad and I would like to lose weight so I guess we shouldn't have made 24 to share between the 2 of us lol :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States