Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These cupcakes were a huge hit with my family & friends...I made 24 cupcakes & within 4 hours they were gone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
The cupcakes were moist and delicious but I only had to cook them for about half the time that the recipe called for. Some of my family loved them and some thought they were a little to spice-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Great recipe, and received a lot of compliments! Thank you!!! I did change a couple of things based on some comments. First I did leave the butter instead of replacing it with oil, as some suggested. But I used 1 cup and changed a couple of other things; 1-1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp of salt, 1-1/2 cups of pumpkin. And for the frosting I used 2-1/2 cups of confectioner's sugar rather than 3. It was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Thank you so much for this recipe its delish!. I followed the recipe as is except i put a whole 15oz can of pumpkin, i was worried about the thickness of the batter but it was just fine at the end . I also bake for 20 min @350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe as did my family! I followed DelightfulDines revisions with a little alterations of my own. I created a cake instead of cupcakes which was a great idea. Instead of creating the pumpkin spice with the individual spices I just bought McCormick's Pumpkin Spice. I added 3 rounded teasopoons of the pumpkin spice to the flour. I also added 1/3 cup oil instead of the butter. I used the eggs right out of the fridge and I added the whole can of pumpkin puree. I baked the cake at 350 Degrees for about 30ish minutes. This is definitely one of the yummiest cakes I've had in a very long time! Can't wait to make it again at Christmas ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef LBoogie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
They are great if the recipe is altered. I just made 24 of these bad boys :) To start, I doubled every spice. added 15 oz cup of pumpkin instead of cup. sub oil for butter. deffff ONLY PROB. THIS IS MY FIRST TIME BAKING - EVER ! AND I FILLED MY CUPCAKE LINERS TO THE TOP.. I HAVE CUPCAKES THE SIZE OF MY OVEN ;) Either way, tomorrow for Thanksgiving everyone will get extra fat... and at least they are awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Good.....Only made 19 instead of 24......The icing is great....alittle runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt B
Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Valley Mills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
These were great! I added extra pumpkin puree, but followed the rest of the receipe to a T. The frosting was so tasty as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Charles, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I thought these cupcakes were very good, but I did make a few mistakes (which were fixed). I halfed the recipe and used a mini cupcake pan (plus 2 regular size cupcakes because I had just a bit too much batter for my pan). I baked them for 19 minutes at 350 degrees per the suggestion of another reviewer. I should have taken the mini pan out at maybe 17 minutes because the outside crust was a bit tougher than I would have liked (but it didn't burn). However, the 2 that I baked in the regular size pan were perfect. I followed the recipe almost exactly except I didn't have any cloves or allspice, so I subbed 1/2 teaspoon of apple pie spice. Cupcakes turned out tender with a mild pumpkin flavor. However it really does make a difference to use room temp eggs if you use butter instead of oil. I made the mistake of using them straight from the fridge, and once I mixed the eggs and milk with the sugar-butter, my batter "curdled" and separated (evidently, this happens when you mix cold eggs with room temp ingredients). Instead of throwing it all out, I simply popped the wet ingredient bowl in the microwave for 30 seconds, stirred it again, and it came out perfect. Next time however, I will substitute oil for the butter as other reviewers suggested and probably can bypass this snafu in the future. So here's what I learned: 1. Bake at 350 for 17 min with mini muffin pan or 19 min with regular muffin pan 2. Use room temp eggs, but 30 sec in microwave can fix "curdled" wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
MMMMMH!!!! These cupcakes are divine! Let me start with the icing. The highest compliment came from my husband who HATES frosting. He was practically licking the bowl after I made it. I did take the advice of many reviewers and used a whole can of pumpkin, heaping spoons of the spices, 1/2 cup oil and 2 cups of powdered sugar instead. I baked at 350 for 23 min. Perfect. The cakes were moist and delicious on their own, but the icing totally seals the deal. I will be taking them to my mom group. I did make the icing last night, and plan to frost them as I am walking out the door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States