Pumpkin Spice Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These have been great both times I made them! I made them for a holiday party and received many compliments. I followed the recipe exactly, except I took some others suggestions and added cream cheese frosting. The cookie is very dense, but delicious. I made them a second time, but added 1 cup of oatmeal and some cinnamon, again adding cream cheese frosting. They were even better with oatmeal, as they were less dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Any recipe that has only two ingredients and tastes this good gets 5 stars in my book! I added 3/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice and flattened the cookies with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar before baking 12 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Wow, for something so simple these are really great. I made half the batch as stated and the other half I added some pumpkin pie spice and semisweet chocolate chips. I loved the doctored up ones, but some of my friends preferred the original ones. It's nice to have a cookie that isn't that horrible for you! I'll make these again very soon, thank you!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
These are not very much like cookies--more like very small cakes. Appearance-wise they look funny. They rise quite a lot. They taste better after sitting for awhile--they become very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is the perfect fall cookie recipe. Very easy and very tasty! I took the recommendation of previous reviewers and mixed in one egg to bind the ingredients together. These cookies are so moist they will last well over one week! I used them for two parties at my house within 6 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Despina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Excellent recipe! One thing I wish I'd known is that the cookies pretty much keep the same shape as when you drop them. So, you can fit a lot on a sheet, but if you drop them in a big globby mess, they'll look like a big globby mess. (Oh well, guess I'll just have to eat them myself). Excellent cookie, and this is said from someone who pretty much only likes chocolate chip cookies. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
UPDATE: I DECIDED TO USE SOME OF MY CREAM CHEESE FROSTING ON THE COOKIES I HAD TODAY. ALTHOUGH GREAT WITHOUT, THESE WERE AWESOME WITH IT!!! Yum! These are FANTASTIC!!! My hubs and I treated our new neighbors to dinner at our favorite Mexican hangout and in turn, they gifted us with spiced wine and the most delicious pumpkin cookies I've EVER tasted. My hubs is not a fan of anything pumpkin, so I was the one to INHALE (yes, inhale...) them! :) I haven't been able to ask my neighbor for her cookie recipe, so I decided to see what I could find on here. To my surprise, these taste EXACTLY like the ones she made us! My only change was to add 1/2 t pumpkin pie spice, simply because I had some handy. I purchased a container of prepared cream cheese frosting, but decided to not use any of it (these are perfect as is, IMHO). NOTE: If placing your cookies in an airtight container, DO NOT seal them until completely cooled. If you do, the steam that condenses on the lid of your container will make your cookies gummy. This in no way affects the flavor, but they will be a bit sticky (which is off putting). Thanks for sharing such a great recipe, CARRUTH! This one's going in my "keeper" file for sure. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
These taste yummy, but the texture is different from traditional cookies. I added a teaspoon of both pumpkin spice and cinnamon. I made some plain and then added mini marshmallows to the remaining batter. For those with a sweet tooth, the marshmallows make them a little for sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I have been making this for a couple of years now, and wanted to add a GLUTEN FREE option. I am sure there is probably one on here, but just in case...we used the can of pumpkin, one egg, gluten free spice cake mix that makes two 9-inch layers, and about half of a bag of mini chocolate chips. These came out BETTER than the original! We made them for a friend with sensitivity, and the gluten free mix is more expensive, but I WILL be making this again before I use the garden variety cake mix! Very flavorful, very spice-flavored, and had a nice crispish texture to the outside. No gummy results for us this time as we have had in the past. Baked them at 375 for about 12-13 minutes and they were WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I thought these were good, but not great. That said, they were very simple and my son loved them. I just think they could use some tweaking. The only change I made was to add chocolate chips. Might try one reviewers suggestion of gingerbread mix instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States