Pumpkin Spice Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
As is this is a wonderfull cookie. Didn't have a spice cake mix in the house but I did have a can of pumpkin. Added 4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice to a reduced sugar yellow cake mix and 1 tsp cardamom, mixed to togeather before adding the pumpkin. Then I added 1/2 cup Craisens, 1/2 cup chopped nuts & 1/2 cups Cinnamon chips. Too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I added 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice and 1 egg to this recipe. I had to cook them for at least 15 minutes. They are done when you can poke them with your finger and they feel firm, not squishy. I let them cool and sandwiched two cookies together after filling them with cream cheese frosting. Labeled them pumpkin spice whoopie pies and sold them at a bake sale. Went like hotcakes! Wish I could add a picture to my review. Happy baking :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. These hardly qualify as cookies. It's more like a muffin texture, and a tough, chewy one at that. Frosting wouldn't rescue these cookies either. I'm off to find an edible pumpkin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I make these occasionally and we love them. However, this week I only had white cake mix so I added 3 tsp. pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 tsp. ginger and 2 tsp. cinammon and 1 tsp. pure vanilla to give it some punch. Still wasn't as good as the spice cake mix but we're eating them. Try this as given for a low fat,low calorie cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxyquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These were yummy!!! I made them for my husband while he was at work, and he was so impressed!!! So easy, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I love these! I added 1/2 tsp of pumpkin spice, some walnuts and white choc. chuncks (not sure how much, just eye balled it). Like recommended, I baked them for 15 min. They are, as someone else said, just like muffin tops! That is how I refer to them instead of cookies. My new favorite!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Patt Troutman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Great idea- I added pumkin pie spice (about 1/2 tsp) and white chocolate chips; I think they would be too bland without some kind of addition. I love the way the house smelled while these were baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
As written, these are fair. I didn't have spice cake, but I added a couple teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon to a vanilla cake mix. After they cooled, I topped them with some melted white chocolate and THAT made them very good! I buy the bags of melting chocolate from Hobby Lobby. It's candymaker brand. Anytime a recipe calls for melted chocolate for dipping I always use that. Melted chocolate chips can't compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These are a huge hit at our house. We use fresh pumpkin that I have baked/blended, and we also add 1 c. of semisweet chocolate chips. AMAZINGLY good, and I feel virtuous making them, as they seem pretty healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These are not very good. They have no taste when made as written. When I mixed up the batter, I considered adding some cinnamon, nutmeg, etc -- pumpkin pie spices. Then I thought I'd just try the recipe as directed and see how it turns out. As I said -- no flavor. They may be better if you add some spices, but really, it's not much harder to make a pumpkin cookie or pumpkin bar from scratch and they would be much, much better than these. The only reason I give them 2 stars is because they are incredibly easy, but your effort, or lack thereof, will show. Personally I feel better about spending an extra 10 or 15 minutes to make something worthwhile, than spend 5 minutes for something so bland. I'm sorry to say that anyone who is impressed by these cookies has not experienced true homemade baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States