Pumpkin Spice Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
As is this is a wonderfull cookie. Didn't have a spice cake mix in the house but I did have a can of pumpkin. Added 4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice to a reduced sugar yellow cake mix and 1 tsp cardamom, mixed to togeather before adding the pumpkin. Then I added 1/2 cup Craisens, 1/2 cup chopped nuts & 1/2 cups Cinnamon chips. Too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I added 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice and 1 egg to this recipe. I had to cook them for at least 15 minutes. They are done when you can poke them with your finger and they feel firm, not squishy. I let them cool and sandwiched two cookies together after filling them with cream cheese frosting. Labeled them pumpkin spice whoopie pies and sold them at a bake sale. Went like hotcakes! Wish I could add a picture to my review. Happy baking :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. These hardly qualify as cookies. It's more like a muffin texture, and a tough, chewy one at that. Frosting wouldn't rescue these cookies either. I'm off to find an edible pumpkin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I make these occasionally and we love them. However, this week I only had white cake mix so I added 3 tsp. pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 tsp. ginger and 2 tsp. cinammon and 1 tsp. pure vanilla to give it some punch. Still wasn't as good as the spice cake mix but we're eating them. Try this as given for a low fat,low calorie cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxyquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These were yummy!!! I made them for my husband while he was at work, and he was so impressed!!! So easy, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I love these! I added 1/2 tsp of pumpkin spice, some walnuts and white choc. chuncks (not sure how much, just eye balled it). Like recommended, I baked them for 15 min. They are, as someone else said, just like muffin tops! That is how I refer to them instead of cookies. My new favorite!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Patt Troutman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Great idea- I added pumkin pie spice (about 1/2 tsp) and white chocolate chips; I think they would be too bland without some kind of addition. I love the way the house smelled while these were baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
As written, these are fair. I didn't have spice cake, but I added a couple teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon to a vanilla cake mix. After they cooled, I topped them with some melted white chocolate and THAT made them very good! I buy the bags of melting chocolate from Hobby Lobby. It's candymaker brand. Anytime a recipe calls for melted chocolate for dipping I always use that. Melted chocolate chips can't compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These are a huge hit at our house. We use fresh pumpkin that I have baked/blended, and we also add 1 c. of semisweet chocolate chips. AMAZINGLY good, and I feel virtuous making them, as they seem pretty healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These are not very good. They have no taste when made as written. When I mixed up the batter, I considered adding some cinnamon, nutmeg, etc -- pumpkin pie spices. Then I thought I'd just try the recipe as directed and see how it turns out. As I said -- no flavor. They may be better if you add some spices, but really, it's not much harder to make a pumpkin cookie or pumpkin bar from scratch and they would be much, much better than these. The only reason I give them 2 stars is because they are incredibly easy, but your effort, or lack thereof, will show. Personally I feel better about spending an extra 10 or 15 minutes to make something worthwhile, than spend 5 minutes for something so bland. I'm sorry to say that anyone who is impressed by these cookies has not experienced true homemade baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States