Pumpkin Spice Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kathy B
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This cake recipe was very moist and had great flavor. I used a spice cake mix since that's all I had and added 1/2 cup of raisins. I made cupcakes and baked them for 20 minutes. Frosted them with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting from this site. Very yummy, will make again. Great recipe for a quick cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is very good, so good that my husband gave it five stars which rarely happens. But I have to concur with his opinion because this cake has wonderful flavor and great texture. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
love it. substituted yams for pumpkin (leftover thanksgiving dinner), and a butter pecan cake mix instead of adding pecans. turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
We had this cake tonight and loved it. I always use egg beaters in place of eggs and cut the oil in half, replacing it with unsweetened applesauce. I did not add the nuts and instead replaced them with raisins. I used a bunt pan and baked at 350 for 52 minutes. Very dense and super moist; we will have this again at the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was great! I did use 1/2 c and 1/2 c applesauce. The cake was very moist and not too pumpkin-y. Instead of all the different spices I used 2-1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and my cream cheese frosting and baked it in a bundt pan. Even my picky 6-year-old liked it and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
this is a great, easy recipes. I have made it in a regular 13x9 cake pan with caramel drizzle, cupcakes w cream cheese frosting, or as a bundt w/ vanilla glaze. It always comes out perfectly moist and fluffy, make sure you mix for the full 4 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Given that many GREAT pumpkin bread recipes call for a can of pumpkin, 4 eggs and 1 cup of oil, unlike most other reviewers of this recipe I did not reduce the amount of oil. I prepared it as written, with one cup oil and was quite pleased with the delicious result. I did, however, make a few other minor modifications. First, I used a French Vanilla cake mix which I always prefer over yellow any day of the week - it has less of that artificial cake mix taste yellow cake mixes are so notorious for. I added a teaspoon of vanilla, again to camouflage that tell-tale cake mix taste and, rather than the spices called for, I used a "one serving" recipe of "Pumpkin Pie Spice I," recipe also from this site. I confess I don't know what the baking soda was for - I did add it, but I'm sure the cake would not have been compromised without it. I added 1/2 cup of raisins to the batter, but not the pecans. I baked it in a Bundt pan at 350 degrees, about 55 minutes. When cool, I glazed it with a cream cheese glaze: 4 ozs. cream cheese, 1/2 c. powdered sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla and 3 T. half-and-half. Finally, to pretty it up a bit, I sprinkled it with chopped pecans. This is a beautiful and nicely spiced pumpkin cake, made easy and quite satisfactorily with a humble cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Delicious. I had just put my baby down for a nap when I realized I didn't have enough white sugar so I used 1/4 cup white, 1/4 cup brown sugar and it tasted fine. I also added a couple dashes of nutmeg and reduced the oil from 1 cup to 1/2 cup because the oil where I live tastes funny (China) and I didn't want that to impact the overall taste of the cake. I made 2 9-inch round cakes and frosted it with cinnamon cream cheese frosting. It was very light and fluffy and rose very well (maybe thanks to the baking soda).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This cake is so moist and delicious! I have made it several times, and it is always such a hit! I only use 1/2 cup of oil, and then either another 1/2 cup of pumpkin or a 1/2 cup of applesauce, and it always turns out amazing! We serve it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Hands down the best cake ever!!! Followed others advice and used half the oil called for and replaced the rest with cinnamon applesauce. Added extra spices, and replaced the pecans with apples. I served this at a bday party and the look on peoples faces said it all. Will make this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyNewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States