Pumpkin Spice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This is an EXCELLENT cake. We baked it (in a bundt pan) for Hallowe'en. Decorated it with orange coloured cream cheese icing.Then crafted a stem and leaves from craft paper. It looked just like a real pumpkin. It was delicious and a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This recipe has been revised to include "2 eggs, beaten" in the list of ingredients. The eggs are creamed together with the shortening and other ingredients in Step 2 of the directions. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was my first attempt at making a pumpkin cake and it was delicious. I will definitely be using this one in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Great recipe! It was easy to make and turned out great. Even my picky 9 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Made this last night and, although it was easy to put together, the results were not at all what I expected. The cake was moist but I thought it tasted bland and lacked spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Delicious! Everyone loved this! Even those who aren't crazy about pumpkin! Very moist and great flavor! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This spice cake was great, it was moist and it tasted excellent. I also added some powdered cloves, which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very moist and flavorful cake. I did sub 1/4 cup applesauce for 1/4 of the shortening. I also used a cup of whole wheat flour, which I normally do in recipes. I was surprised that someone said this cake was bland. Perhaps their spices are outdated. With the pumpkin and spices, it's hardly lacking in flavor. I didn't frost the cake, but I did add a glaze on top. It doesn't really need much since it is a very tasty cake as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I divided it into a 3-layer cake, frosted it with a cream cheese frosting, and sprinkled some mashed up cinnamon graham crackers on top. It was an absolute smash! I did only bake it for about 25 minutes, though. Not sure where the 60-65 minutes comes from. Would have burned it if I'd cooked it that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This cake was just okay - better as muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States