Pumpkin Spice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Some have complained about this cake being dry - better to substitute half butter for the shortening which also gives a richer flavor. Great keeping cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
it was really tasty - but dry. I made cupcakes and the tops came apart from the bottoms when removing from the pans. still in search of my pumpkin spice cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P24FERGUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I added 1 tsp baking powder, chopped dates and a half tsp of ground clove. Awesome! Eats great with vanilla ice cream too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was very dry. Great texture tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colormekaylee
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These were VERY good. Everyone loved them. I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin, but I think these were prefect. Reminded me a lot of bananna bread. Instead of using a bundt pan, I cut the recipie in half and made 12 miniture ones. Perfect for snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colormekaylee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It seems to be a blur in distinguishing a muffin/quick bread from a cake/cupcake and I suppose you could call this one either. To me, what it now boils down to is this: if it's plain, it's a bread or muffin, if you frost it, it's cake. So I made this CAKE into cupcakes, baking them at 350 degrees for about 22 minutes. I frosted them with "Maple Icing," also from this site. And they were perfect - pretty, moist, delicious and spiced very similarly to a pumpkin pie. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I changed the recipe slightly: 1 c shortening 2 1/4 c squash puree no pecans Baked in 9" x 13" pan for 1 hour. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a simple cake and if you get the pumkin with the spices already in it, it is easier yet since you don't have to add much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott and Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I made this cake for Thanksgiving. It was wonderful. Everyone loved it. I made the cream cheese frosting to go along with it. I do, however, have a complaint. It would be helpful for others if the frosting recipe was included as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This cake was just okay - better as muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States