Pumpkin Spice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by micia247
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Awesome recipe. It's like butter to my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
GREAT CAKE! Made it for my B-Day and it turned out exactly as I hoped. Smells great well it's baking and definitely adds something special to Fall. Thank you! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I didn't put a glaze on it and I think that would have made it even better, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Instead of baking two pumpkin pies for Thanksgiving, I made this cake as a pie alternative. It was very moist and delicious-we put whipped cream or ice cream on top. I'll be making this again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is awesome! Made it a few times, here's my changes: because I didn't have enough shortening I used 3/4 cup butter, softened, 1/4 cup shortening, 1/4 cup vegetable oil, and 1/4 cup applesauce. I added about two teaspoons vanilla, and increased all of the spices by using heaping spoonful's, same for the pecans, a heaping half cup. I followed the original recipe for everything else except baking soda was reduced to 3/4 tsp. because I live at 7000'. Baked as a bundt cake, it turned out perfect: moist, tender and tasty, and keeps well. My daughter made a buttercream glaze to drizzle on top: 2Tbsp butter, softened, beat into 2 cups powdered sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla. Whisk in about 1/4 cup milk, or half and half, glaze should be liquid enough to flow, but thick enough to hold onto cake as it drips down sides. Add milk or powdered sugar as needed until consistency is just right. Pour on the top of bundt cake, thicker at places, let it run. Leave some of the sides uncovered. The glaze will have the essence of a snow capped mountain with avalanche trails. My daughter added milk and powdered sugar, trying to get the right consistency and ended up with twice as much glaze as needed. No problem, covered the leftover glaze, put it in the fridge for a few days then made another one of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terri
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This recipe was loved by all my boys. I added a cream cheese frosting. It was very moist and flavorful. The spices were not overpowering and the pumpkin gave it a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was so easy and smelled so wonderful while it was baking! I also followed the advice of another post and added the cream cheese filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Yum! The only mistake I made is that I only had an 8 1/2 inch bundt pan instead of the recommended 10 inch and the pan was a bit small. But I made the cake for my son's birthday party, more for the parents, and everyone loved it! I also made it with fresh pumpkin puree rather than canned and it had great pumpkin taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
this was really good... I added 1 cup pecans instead but our family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I've made this cake four times and it has been a big hit each time! Slight revisions: I use butter, add 1 tsp of vanilla, cut down the sugar to about 1 c white and 3/4 c brown. I used pumpkin pie spice in place of all the other spices when I ran out of ginger. I've made it twice with a cream cheese filling (blending together 8 oz cream cheese, 1 egg, and 1/4 sugar)-- Put about half of the batter into the bundt pan, pour in the cream cheese filling evenly on top of that, top with remaining cake batter, bake for an hour. Cool and dust generously with powdered sugar. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States