Pumpkin Spice Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I baked this loaf and shared it with friends at my church's weekly movie night recently, and it was a hit! It was very moist with only a hint of the many spices that were used in making this wonderful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group. I only made 1/2 the recipe. And I made a few changes as I usually do. First, I live at high altitude, so I added 1 heaping tablespoon of flour. Also I substituted 3/4C whole wheat flour for white flour. After mixing all the ingredients, the batter was very thick, so I added 1/2 cup of apple cider, since I had some. The thick batter really had to be addressed, so that's why 3 stars. I made muffins, which took 26 minutes to bake. The spice taste is stronger than the pumpkin. A good muffin. I don't know if I will make these again or not, but it was fun to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Really good, and my girls couldn't wait for them to bake! I did make muffins for portability, and baked them for 35-40 minutes. I had some pepitas and decided to top half the batch with them also. Thanks, I love that these use no oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...I guess I'm in the minority here, but this was just ok for us. I made it exactly as written, but mine came out w/ quite a rubbery texture that we really didn't care for. The flavor was nice and spice-y, though. I also liked that this was a healthier version of pumpkin bread. This is something that I will most likely not make again, but I was glad to give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 22, September 2012 ~ This is a custom version of another Pumpkin Spice Bread that used to be on AR. It is now located at TOH. The difference being, this bread uses no oil. I made a half batch of this as written and added oil to the other batch. This texture is more rubbery and dry. I made 3 different pumpkin breads in the same day, and did a taste test with a few different people, without telling them anything about any of the breads. Sorry to report, this was the least favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This was decent. DIdn't knock my socks off, but yummy. I liked that it didn't take oil but it was still nice and moist. I do agree with other reviewers that pumpkin wasn't the most prominent flavour. I didn't have most of the individual spices, so I used about 3 tsp of pumpkin pie spice (for just one loaf).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Very dense but moist cake. I added 1/2 cup applesauce and nuts as my changes. Def. overpowering on the spices, maybe decrease by 1/2. I'm am sure it will be devoured up anyways as its not that bad. The spice is why I gave it 4 stars. It was done at 60 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Moist, but lacking in pumpkin flavor. Still good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Recipe group selection 9/22/12. I had high hopes for this but it's really just OK. I felt there was far more sugar than we would enjoy, so I cut back to 3/4 cup each white and brown and it is plenty , but something seems to be missing, maybe ginger. I made 12 muffins and 1 8" loaf. The muffins tested done at 20 minutes, but could have baked for another 5 or so. The loaf tested done at 35 minutes and started smelling burnt at 40, so I removed it from the oven, cooled it and wrapped for freezing, so we'll see. I thought eliminating the oil would make this lighter than my usual recipe but this seems much denser. Thanks for something new to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I wasn't a huge fan of this but my whole family was so Ill probably make this again just for them but maybe tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States