Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dgoodcookr
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
For a lighter version of this soup, I copied everything off this recipe except only added 1 Tablespoon of the Heavy Whipping Cream. Really I could have gone without the whipping cream all together. I modified this soup so it would be lighter in both fat and calories. I thought that the flavor and smooth texture was not compromised at all by reducing the whipping cream amount. My husband and I found this almost as good as the gourmet pumpkin soup that we at at Sandals in St.Lucia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
817 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoodcookr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This is an excellent recipe for pumpkin soup! I have been using it for about two years and my whole family loves it! Even kids will eat this soup! Sometimes I replace the heavy whipping cream with 1/2 cup (or more) sour cream for a different twist. This recipe also freezes well and doesn't change consistency when thawed for use! Tip: When creaming the soup, use a handheld blender (like a handheld smoothie maker) and just put it directly into the pot instead of transferring everything back and forth to the blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
464 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Loved this soup - but I made it for vegetarians with vegetable stock, added a tablespoon or so of peanut butter, some freshly ground black pepper, a bay leaf and I used canned pumpkin. Instead of blending it I used a hand blender in the pot - perfect. I will omit the whole peppercorns next time - I think one of my guests nearly swallowed it and started coughing. Other than that - not a single drop was left over! Even the guest who was coughing on the peppercorn finished every little bit of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Really good. I made a few changes that others made. First, I cooked my pumpkin in a glass dish at 375 for about 90 minutes (cut in half, cleaned out, cut side down, covered with foil). I cooled and scraped out the pumpkin. I then sauted onion and garlic in a little olive oil. I then added broth, mashed pumpkin and seasonings ( I substituted 1/2 teaspoon pepper for the pepper corns). Simmered for about 20 minutes, pureed the mixture with submersion blender (hand blender)and then added just a little 2% milk to make a little creamy. It was really good. I might play with the seasonings next time. I might forgo the thyme and season with curry or pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
To the previous post, yes, you can use the canned pumpkin, it is just pureed pumpkin, the same (almost)as if you cooked and pureed your own pumpkin. Delicious soup. More people need to try it. Think people's brain's go to "pumpkin pie" and think it will be sweet. Nope, it is a wonderful, savory soup. Good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
My whole family loves it! I started with raw pumpkin and added 8 cups of raw cubed pumpkin instead of 4 cups puree, and it worked great! I just pureed it later on before adding the cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIWIK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This is a good pumpkin soup recipe. To the person who wanted to know if sausage could be added. Definitely add some, if you would like. Never be afraid to experiment with a recipe. You might try making just a small amount with the sausage and see how you like it. I, too, use canned pumpkin in this recipe. Make sure you get canned pumpkin, not canned pumpkin pie filling. I sometimes use half and half instead of whipping cream, and I sometimes leave out the thyme and use cinnamon and ginger in it instead. It's also good with a little curry powder in it along with the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
With added cinn, nutmeg, and celery this soup is excellent, it is good made according to the directions but I needed a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missyoumuch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Super yummy and super easy. I added a shake or two each of ginger and nutmeg; not enough to be able to taste either spice, but just enough to intensify the flavor of the soup. I also added the cream to taste, which was about half of the listed amount. This soup would be excellent for company. I'll make this one again; thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
This is a good cold day soup ! I really enjoyed this. It reminds me of potatoe soup in consistency. Anyhow,I will definitely make it agian. I used light cream instead of heavy cream, b/c that is what i had, and it worked out fine. Very tasty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States