Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Our family found this to be very bland. We prefer a heartier soup with a little more texture and flavor. It was intended as a main course, perhaps it would be better suited for a side for some other dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Loved it! Added cinnamon and nutmeg, and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3LKM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I made this at Thansgiving this year and it was the hit of my dinner. Easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Really loved this recipe! I baked the pumpkin with a butternut squash and nearly had enough pumpkin, but used 3/4 cup butternut squash to make up the 4 cups of pumpkin required. I used everything, except I omitted the thyme and added a dash of Garam Masala which made it taste divine. I used a "squirt" (about 1/4 cup) of light whipped cream instead of the 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream at the end. My husband loved the taste, too. I also pureed it with a wand hand mixer right in the cooking pot to save time. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James and Nama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I thought this was really bland. I even added some cumin and sprinkled cheese on top but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very, very good! I added a little bit of coriander and two bay leaves. Also, I don't have a blender, so I put it through a mesh strainer twice - once to puree the fresh (cooked) pumpkin before adding it to the soup and once after the soup had cooked for a bit. Also, I used light whipping cream because it was cheaper and (a little) healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Delicious! Be careful of the boiling. It is thick and can have large bubbles that pop and spray everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
NOT a good recipe for increasing the servings. I had to make this for 20 people, I spent 2 days on it and it tasted horrible! I followed everything to a T for a 20 person increase, and then improvised as it wasn't tasting like anything but thyme. It was extremely bland. I will try the recipe again, for a 4 person family, but never again for a group amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I followed other people's suggestion and added a handful of brown sugar. I also only added half the salt and then added more after it was done to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
First time cooking a pumpkin soup and I wasnt sure if it will come good so I did it the day before Thanksgiving so I could taste it,me and my hubby wanted to eat it that day it camed out so yummi.All guest loved it.Winter is here and Im sure that I will cook this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joely

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States