Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Too much pepper. And no real flavor. I was expecting strong pumpkin taste. But it is boring! In the end I added 2 tbl honey too help cut the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is a great soup but low on the protein factor so I puree some white navy beans with the broth before adding --ups the protein factor. I also make it creamy by adding yogurt (sometimes Greek or Goat for unique flavor) vs. the cream. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Loved It! I suggest adding a touch of butter snd nutmeg before serving! It gives it that special flavor.yummmand i used fresh pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
So delicious! it really is the perfect winter warmer, yummmm !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy Bows

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
My husband and I really liked this soup! A lot of the low reviews say that it is bland, we didn't find it bland, but its flavors (other than the pumpkin) are subtle. Also, its a good idea not to use this as a main course because it is a bit light; we paired it with homemade bread and that worked well for us but we were hungry later that evening. I made a few modifications: I added about 1/4 tsp nutmeg, I only used 1/3 c heavy cream, I added an extra 1/2 cup of onion and 2 extra cloves garlic (because we love onion and garlic) and the onion and garlic still did not overpower the pumpkin. I also added 1/2 a tbsp of sugar. I would NOT add the sugar again, we aren't a fan of sweet soups and this addition brought it close to our sweet level limit. If you give it the time the recipe recommends to let the garlic and onion cook down in the broth it'll give nice flavor and release the sweetness in the pumpkin. One more note! I used an emersion blender instead of spooning it into my food processor. Its so much easier, if you make a lot of soup I highly recommend investing in one! I will make this for my family when they come visit for the holidays. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I just made this recipe for my hubby. I almost forgot the heavy cream! He loved it and had two huge bowls. I added an extra can of Pumpkins Puree for a total of 3 cans. Also 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes for a little spice. Easy and quick. I will be making this each fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Ummm jury is still out on this one. I too made it with vegetable broth but doesn't seem to be much flavor. I keep adding salt. Also not adding heavy cream as I don't do dairy either. I think its going to have to grow on me a bit. I soooo wanted to love this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I loved this soup, but I made a few changes. I added about 1/2 cup of apple cider to soup after puree process. I also added pumpkin pie spice. Instead of cream I added 1/3 of a can of fat free evaporated milk. The recipe was simple but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Something was missing. I used canned pumpkin purée not sure if that was it. But it lacked flavor and I prepared it just as the recipe called for. I definitely would not make this again ... The amount of work was not worth the end result :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States