Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I made this at Thansgiving this year and it was the hit of my dinner. Easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Really loved this recipe! I baked the pumpkin with a butternut squash and nearly had enough pumpkin, but used 3/4 cup butternut squash to make up the 4 cups of pumpkin required. I used everything, except I omitted the thyme and added a dash of Garam Masala which made it taste divine. I used a "squirt" (about 1/4 cup) of light whipped cream instead of the 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream at the end. My husband loved the taste, too. I also pureed it with a wand hand mixer right in the cooking pot to save time. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James and Nama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I thought this was really bland. I even added some cumin and sprinkled cheese on top but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very, very good! I added a little bit of coriander and two bay leaves. Also, I don't have a blender, so I put it through a mesh strainer twice - once to puree the fresh (cooked) pumpkin before adding it to the soup and once after the soup had cooked for a bit. Also, I used light whipping cream because it was cheaper and (a little) healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Delicious! Be careful of the boiling. It is thick and can have large bubbles that pop and spray everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
NOT a good recipe for increasing the servings. I had to make this for 20 people, I spent 2 days on it and it tasted horrible! I followed everything to a T for a 20 person increase, and then improvised as it wasn't tasting like anything but thyme. It was extremely bland. I will try the recipe again, for a 4 person family, but never again for a group amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I followed other people's suggestion and added a handful of brown sugar. I also only added half the salt and then added more after it was done to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
First time cooking a pumpkin soup and I wasnt sure if it will come good so I did it the day before Thanksgiving so I could taste it,me and my hubby wanted to eat it that day it camed out so yummi.All guest loved it.Winter is here and Im sure that I will cook this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joely

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I did not care for this at all although I did like the creamy texture. I followed the directions exactly but I used fresh pumpkin puree and that could be the reason for the awful taste. I hate to waste food so I tried to salvage it by adding brown sugar and cinnamon. That made it edible but it still tasted bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I like it. Very tasty soup. But I did´t use the onion and I added nutmeg. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lubka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bratislava, Bratislavský Kraj, Slovakia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States