Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Just made this soup and it is very delicious! Mine turned out kinda brown cause I used homemade chicken broth to which I had added onion skins for flavor. I made 2 changes to the recipe due to what I had on hand. Did not have heavy cream, used 1/2 large block cream cheese. Also added 1 teaspoon of Garam Marsala, just cause it was recommended by others and had never tried using it in anything and had it on my spice shelf waiting for just the right recipe. This soup is very unique and lovely, warm and fragrant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Kinnee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Mmmm, just lovely. This is so creamy and rich, perfect for a nice fall evening. I addded cumin for extra flavor and also more peppercorns. Great recipe and so much easier if you use canned pumpkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
What did i do wrong??? I did not care for this recipe. Added things people suggested to try to salvage it... still very bland. Was it the pumpkin??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gertieok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I love this soup, it is easy and delicious. I gave it to my neighbors and they loved it too! I added a teaspoon of ground fresh ginger and it was even better. Put it in jelly jars and decorate the top with squares of holiday patches and it makes a terrific gift for working mom's. This recipe is now part of my regular repertoire. ; ) mm mm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimscastle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I can't say that I like the recipe as is as much as I thought I would, which is why I gave it 3 stars. After reading some of the reviews and trying some of the suggestions that were given I think I may have found what I like. Ginger gives it a little heat, which tastes very good. (I was gonna try cayenne next if the ginger didn't work...that seems like it could do the trick as well.) Cinnamon does something nice to the soup, too. I tried putting a little brown sugar in, too...just a little though, because I don't know if too much sweetness would help. Cumin...not really for me. I like cumin alot, but it didn't seem to work in the soup. So for me, ginger, cinnamon, and a little brown sugar really helped. I tried sour cream, too. That wasn't the ticket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Not fond of this soup. I used canned pumpkin puree--maybe that was the taste issue. Not planning to make this again, but if i do i will buy a fresh pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
i followed this, baked my pumpkin first and added a little curry too..... SO GOOD !!! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany1ella2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencerport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My husband loved this. Enough for me to make for a cold winter lunch. This is rich and I may try to use lighter cream next time. WOW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vulcan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This soup was really bland, I think I maybe should have tweaked it but I wanted to try the recipe without messing with it. Maybe next time I will add more thyme. The cream made it soooo smooth and delicious...but still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great base recipe. Made the following changes - roasted my own pumpkins - used 4.5 c vegetable stock instead of 6 c chicken stock - used 3 cloves garlic - stuck the onion and garlic in the blender before cooking; much easier to work with than blending the whole soup after cooking! - used only .25 c heavy whipping cream - added a dash of cumin and a heavy helping of curry powder - skipped the whole peppercorns
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States