Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Wonderful recipe. I did make one change. I pureed the onions and garlic before I added them to the pot and didn't puree anything afterwards. I makes for a nice thick soup. Great for a cold autumn day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
awesome recipe!! didn't use the parsley or the thyme, or peppercorns because I wanted to make it kid likable. It is so tasty and smooth in texture! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is delicious! I made it for Halloween and I think it will become a tradition! I did make a slight change. Instead of cream I used half and half. Also, at the end of cooking I added browned ground Italian turkley sausage to the soup and boy did that give it a power boost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I found this recipe to be very good! EXCEPT I did not follow the recipe exactly with the spices, and I wish I had. I didnt use real peppercorns either just regular pepper. Mine turned out too spicy because I did not follow the recipe but still very good. I did not serve this to anyone else because of the spice but I did enjoy it. Also I only put in 4 cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of heavy whipping cream and it turned out delicious and creamy!! Follow the recipe for the spices! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Loved it... only I sauted onions and garlic in 1 tblsp first and omted salt and added 1 tblsp maple syrup for a hint of sweet. I forgot to add cream but didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I've been making this recipe for a while but I make it a tad bit better. Add a pinch of ginger powder. it makes it kind of asian tasting pumpkin soup. REALLY yummy. Everyone wanted seconds when I made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is such a simple soup to make - and healthy too! I did make a few changes but think it would be great the way it was written. (I just can't help making changes!) I used two boxes of chicken stock - which is probably closer to 8 cups instead of 6. I did probably closer to 6 cups of pumpkin. Did 1 1/2 C of onion, 4 cloves of garlic, dry thyme, and also added ginger and garam marsala (?) - probably about 1/2 - 1 1/2 t of each. I didn't have heavy cream or half & half - so I did add a little bit of cream cheese - not much though - about 1/5 of a package - and I added it before putting it all in the Cuisinart because cream cheese needs to be pureed. This is really good now...can't wait to have it tomorrow when it has had some time to sit. *oh - and because I didn't read the directions - I put the fresh parsley right into the soup and pureed it along with everything else. It was fine - and didn't change the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
The basic recipe is ok, but it really does remind me of potatoe soup, like another reviewer said. I first added the cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger, as recommended by other reviewers. Still not satisfied and after doing a bit more research, I added brown sugar and vanilla. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
A very nice soup! While the recipe is great as is, I have made variations of it for the past 3 years. Guests are always pleased with the results as am I. The one thing I have found is that the flavours come out really nice when the soup is left overnight to "marinate" before the second boil and simmer. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I don't understand the bad reviews this recipe got, it almost made me not try it, but i'm glad i did! It was delicious. I used canned pumpkin puree and basically followed the recipe. I tasted after I added the first bout of seasoning and then just added more. I also used dried thyme. I didn't bother to puree it. I poured in some half and half for the cream until I thought it looked right and it tasted great! We had it for a main dish although you probably need something else...we had some honey oat bread. try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States