Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I think the best part of this soup is how easy it is to make. And by being so basic it allows you to add a variety of seasonings to give it a multitude of flavors. I gave it 4 out of 5 just b/c I felt it needed a little more seasoning. I added some kosher salt to taste, fresh grated nutmeg and ground black pepper (rather than whole peppercorns) to the thyme. The other change I made was substituting half the pumpkin puree for steamed sweet potato which worked really well. A very tasty and versatile soup! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aregensb
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Delicious! I doubled this recipe to make some for my family and some for a Halloween work party. Everyone thought it was delicious! I didn't have fresh herbs, so I used dried ones, but it still tasted good. I think I will try adding some cayenne pepper or something next time to spice it up and try something new. This soup got requested for Thanksgiving, so I'll give it a try then. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was really awesome!!! I increased the garlic and used dry thyme instead of fresh; also, I fried a little bit of vermicelli in sesame oil and added it to the end. It was SUPERB!!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ola Hafez Kamel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I found this recipe last year on my first exploration of Allrecipes via Google search for pumpkin soup. I had a big pumpkin for Halloween decoration and didn't want to throw it away. This is an excellent recipe and had to find it again for this Thanksgiving. One out of twenty guests didn't love it! My 10 year old daughter asked me to make it again this year so here I am, joining.... so that I can save the recipe where I'm sure to be able to find it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Edible, but bland. I thought I would like it since I really like squash soup. Thyme did not work for me here. I rescued the soup with hot chili sauce and curry powder. It was better, but not great! I'll eat it because I like soups, but will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I decided to saute a little bit of garlic and onion before adding the pumpkin puree. I didn't have any chicken stock on the pantry, so I decided to add some powder chicken bouillon. Also.. as I am watching my calories just added a little bit of whipped cream ( About 3 or 4 tbs ) The result was amazing!! I loved it. I'll do it again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
We like our pumkin soup sweeter, so if you chop the onions bigger and then after it starts to boil, put the soup through a collander to remove the onions. Then put back on heat and add 1/3 cup sugar and some nutmeg to taste, then simmer for 30 minutes and add 1 tablespoon heavy cream, to cut back on the fat, this is a fabulous sweeter tasting pumpkin soup! Try it you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I revised it a bit! I used a large can of pumpkin puree, 2 8oz cans of low sodium chicken broth, 1 med acorn squash cooked, 1 med sweet potatoe cooked, 1 lg onion cooked in oil oil. I cut the squash in half removed the seeds, rubbed the skin with olive oil and put on some brown sugar, baked at 375 for 35 min or until soft, peeled and boiled the sweet potatoe. When the sqash was done scooped it out, threw in the potatoes with pumpkin & broth, used a stick blender to puree, leaving some bits, then added my spices, graham marsalla, cumin, salt, red pepper, nutmeg, curry, brown sugar, garlic power all to taste, heated to boiling it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarianne
Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
All time favorite soup. Love to add extra spices and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Pumpkin is better sweet. i will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States