Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
One word, AMAZING!!! When I 1st saw pumpkin with curry, it intrigued me. The Final outcome was a Taste Sensation. Just another reason to look forward to Autumn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Delicious! For a lighter version, I used light cream (2.5 grams of fat per tablespoon vs 5 grams for the regular cream). It still turned out rich and creamy! I would recommend a handheld blender as recommended by some of the other reviewers. When i put the soup in my regular blender, it nearly exploded due to pressure of the steam building up. But a great recipe! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This soup was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made my own chicken stock last night and then wanted to finish this soup before I went to class this morning. Just a tip if using a blender, NEVER try to blend hot liquids if your blender manual says not to (I have some burns and a mess in my kitchen to remind me) I put the spices in my chicken stock so all I had to do was add the pumpkin, and since I only had 1 can of pumpkin puree I halved the recipe. I also didn't have any heavy whipping cream on hand, but noted that several reviewers said it was ok to do without it. Overall, a good recipe, but really would've been nice to get a caution on the blender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This turned out really nice after some extra seasoning. I added a bay leaf, all spice, cinnamon, curry powder and a good about of cayenne pepper for warmth. I also added more garlic and used light sour cream instead of whipping cream. Taste as you go, you dont want your soup to turn out overpowered by any of these spices. Note: for easy removal, put the peppercorns and bay leaf in a metal tea ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
We had a butternut squash from our garden which I wanted to make something savory from, and I chose this recipe. I am really glad I did - I really enjoyed it and my remaining family members found it good as well. We are only three, so there are some leftovers, and I am hoping they are even better as some reviewers said. Although I followed the recipe quite closely, I did add spices as recommended: garam masala, dried thyme (no fresh available), and ginger. I made the puree by halving the squash and baking it in the oven for 1 hour with a little water in the pan. I then cooled it, scraped it out of the skin and processed in the food processor until smooth - so easy and much tastier than canned. Next time I will omit the water, rub the surface of the squash with olive oil, and bake for 45 min. As the puree was very moist, I reduced the broth to 4 cups. The texture of the resulting soup was perfect. I did not add the cream due to lactose intolerance, but didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I added some fresh butternut squash in with the chopped onion and garlic to pureed pumpkin from a can since I had both in the house. For spices, I used some rosemary, a little cinnamon and ginger (did not use thyme or parsley) but used ground black pepper instead of the peppercorns. I then added about 1/2 cup of fat free half and half. Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan d'Esterre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Really yummy. I pumped up the spices with lots of thyme, sage, 8 peppercorns, 1 allspice berry, a pinch of cinnamon and tumeric, and blended it all up nicely with an immersion blender. I served it with a dollop of yogurt which was SO yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ransomedheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I admit, I'm not a pumpkin fan though I like pumpkin pie. This was the most disgusting soup I ever had. My bro didn't like it either. We tried to fix it up by putting sugar and cinnamon in it; that only make it a little more palatable. I divvied what was left of the batch between the 2 people that said they liked it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adria Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Myakka City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States