Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I love this soup, it is easy and delicious. I gave it to my neighbors and they loved it too! I added a teaspoon of ground fresh ginger and it was even better. Put it in jelly jars and decorate the top with squares of holiday patches and it makes a terrific gift for working mom's. This recipe is now part of my regular repertoire. ; ) mm mm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimscastle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I can't say that I like the recipe as is as much as I thought I would, which is why I gave it 3 stars. After reading some of the reviews and trying some of the suggestions that were given I think I may have found what I like. Ginger gives it a little heat, which tastes very good. (I was gonna try cayenne next if the ginger didn't work...that seems like it could do the trick as well.) Cinnamon does something nice to the soup, too. I tried putting a little brown sugar in, too...just a little though, because I don't know if too much sweetness would help. Cumin...not really for me. I like cumin alot, but it didn't seem to work in the soup. So for me, ginger, cinnamon, and a little brown sugar really helped. I tried sour cream, too. That wasn't the ticket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Not fond of this soup. I used canned pumpkin puree--maybe that was the taste issue. Not planning to make this again, but if i do i will buy a fresh pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
i followed this, baked my pumpkin first and added a little curry too..... SO GOOD !!! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany1ella2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencerport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My husband loved this. Enough for me to make for a cold winter lunch. This is rich and I may try to use lighter cream next time. WOW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vulcan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This soup was really bland, I think I maybe should have tweaked it but I wanted to try the recipe without messing with it. Maybe next time I will add more thyme. The cream made it soooo smooth and delicious...but still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great base recipe. Made the following changes - roasted my own pumpkins - used 4.5 c vegetable stock instead of 6 c chicken stock - used 3 cloves garlic - stuck the onion and garlic in the blender before cooking; much easier to work with than blending the whole soup after cooking! - used only .25 c heavy whipping cream - added a dash of cumin and a heavy helping of curry powder - skipped the whole peppercorns
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This soup was awesome. I directly recommend it for all pumkin carving parties. See my blog: basicallybostonne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
pumpkin soup is the greatest thing ever! i eat it every year for my baptism birthday! yuuuuum:) i think everyone should eat this because it is so good. if pumpkin soup were baseball it would be the Yankees because it is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
One word, AMAZING!!! When I 1st saw pumpkin with curry, it intrigued me. The Final outcome was a Taste Sensation. Just another reason to look forward to Autumn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States