Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This has become a family favorite! I don't make any changes to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I think roasting the veggies added a ice flavor, though I would do a halved pumpkin next time also, peeling is a pain. I also had fresh herbs left from Thanksgiving, so I put roseary, thyme and sage in with the vegies when roasting, then pureed along with everything else. I forgot the nutmeg, but with other herbs, thought would be weird anyway. I pureed to chunky, added more broth, and to reduce fat only added about a half cup of fat free half and half. It turned out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this recipe for my family at Thanksgiving and they loved it! All was silent except for the occasional, "mmmm!" from several of them! Since the stores were all out of fresh pumpkin, I was forced to substitute canned pumpkin. But it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
good, but not worth the trouble. easier to just make all in the pot on the stove and tastes just as good. don't put roasted pumpkin seeds on top. hard to eat with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
If you puree too much, the entire thing turns mushy. So, I set some pumpkin aside and pureed that, then cubed the rest and all other veggies and tossed them in. That much nutmeg was a little unnecessary, so we left it out. Overall recipe still unimpressive, don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This is very good, I substituted evaporated milk and one apple for one of the potatoes and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
My soup turned out decent. I'm not raving over it, but I didnt throw it out either. Has the consistency of baby food. Maybe next time I wont puree completely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
My favorite soup recipe so far this season! It's definitely easier to just roast the pumpkin in halves with the skin on, then scoop out the flesh later. My husband isn't a big fan of nutmeg so I used cumin instead (as another reviewer suggested) and it was the perfect mix of savory and sweet. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This recipie does not have words to decribe how good it is! I absoutly loved it!! When doing it again I would cook the pumkin with the skin on and scoop out the cook pumpkin. it was difficult peeling the pumpkin fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Oh this is a yummy soup, nice and thick, I took one of the reviewers advice and roasted a whole garlic in there and drizzeled oil over it and it just squeezes out I added 4 cloves to it and it was unnoticable I'll add more next time as I love garlic. I once had a pumpkin soup that had cummin in it and I lost it so instead of nutmeg I put a little cummin in it and it hads a nice suttle flavour, I will definatly be making this one again. Thanks Craig, Leanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States