Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lasalle, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Don't know what I did wrong, but it turned out slightly crunchy (even after long minutes in the Cuisinart), and all I could taste was overpowering onion and nutmeg. Never made pumpkin soup before, and I don't know if it's supposed to taste this way or not, but it's not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
this recipe is alright... just needs a spice or two more and it will be perfect. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally_hindal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I tend to improvise. This is easy and came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Not worth it, tasted like a pie gone wrong. Go for a carrot ginger soup instead - Mo' yummyER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I had two small cans of pumpkin and a lot of dark meat left over from Thanksgiving. I followed the recipe, except that I roasted my canned pumpkin puree with the oil and a little dried onion as I was out of fresh. Since I'd used two cans of pumpkin, the soup turned out a little too thick and I added 2% milk - about 2 cups - to reach a veloute consistency. Then I added about two cups of minced leftover turkey and about 1 tsp garlic salt and a touch of white pepper. The flavor of the soup held up admirably in spite of what must have been extra pumpkin on my part and I fell in love with this recipe. It's a keeper and worthy to pass on to friends and relatives. Kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Great recipe. I dropped the cream (because I didn't have any) and the potato and it still came out pretty thick. My husband and two year old daughter finished the whole pot. I've seen a couple pumpkin soup recipes that don't call for baking the pumpkin first and I think that makes all the difference. Perfect recipes for getting lots of veg in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Yum! I loved this soup and my whole family enjoyed it as well. The rich flavor that comes from roasting the veggies is what make the soup so delicious. As recommended by other reviewers I roasted the pumpkin along with the other veggies then scooped it from the shell. I also roasted several cloves of garlic to throw in. I only used a few grinds of pepper and nutmeg, not nearly the amount called for. It turned out even better than I had hoped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This soup was excellent. The only change I made was to add some ground ginger. Next time I think I will put in a little cinnamon as well. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Really nice soup on a cold day. I like to sprinkle some cheese on top and let it melt down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polarmist

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States