Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was easy to make, if you are patient with the cutting. I made enough for 12, so I used one white potato and one sweet potato instead of two white potato. I added 8 cloves of garlic. I peeled the pumpkin AFTER I roasted the pieces. I learned that my 20+ year old food processor is NOT water tight, so I almost lost my broth, but I got most of it back out, pured the veggies, and then hand-whipped it into the broth and cream. I thought I had nutmeg, but it turned out I had allspice, so in it went. I shredded a little fresh ginger into it, too. A friend suggested that. Chopped up an apple and threw in the chunks AFTER it was pured and reheated. Gave it a few bites of sweetness. It tastes good, but not that much like pumpkin. Maybe because I just used a regular old pumpkin and not a sugar pumpkin? Anyway, I'd try this recipe again, but with the nutmeg and a sugar pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this soup with a few tiny modifications and it was EXCELLENT! So very tasty. Added garlic to vegetables, used half quantity of heavy cream and nutmeg, but added some cinnamon and cumin. .......(2) 3 cloves of Garlic - add to roasting pan with pumpkin and carrots and flavour with your favourite seasoned sea salt; ......(4) After cooking potato in bouillon, add pumpkin, carrots and garlic mixture and allow flavours to mix. Let cool to warm.......(5) Add mixture to blender to blend. I like my soup with bits, so did not puree. Return to pot, add 1/2 cup heavy cream, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tps cinnamon and a dash of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This soup is rapidly becoming a family favorite. The first time I made it I didn't have any nutmeg on hand, but I did have garam masala and it went even better with the soup. Also, 2% or skim milk work just fine if you're watching calories. Also, if you overcook the veggies a bit, the onions get caramelized and add a nice richness to the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Not sure what I did wrong!! This tasted VERY bad. I didn't use a sugar pumpkin, and I didn't use cream-- I used 2% milk. I used two red potatoes. Not sure what happened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Absolutely no flavor at all. I added all spice, cinnamon, a little cayenne pepper, and a little sugar in an attempt to salvage the soup. I wish I could take away some of the nutmeg the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great recipe! I used less cream, a little flour, and more garlic, and it was fantastic! Thick and flavorful, I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
It was delicious! The only changes I made were due to what I had on hand: 1 onion vs. 2 and 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I just finished making this soup and it turned out waaaaaay too bitter. I'm not sure what went wrong. I added less nutmeg and a little extra garlic. does anyone know how I might be able to save it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Excellent soup. Followed advice of others acut pumpkin into quarters, roasted it in its skin, and scooped out when done. (Much easier than peeling.) Used 2% milk instead of cream to save some calories, and cut the nutmeg back to a teaspoon. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States