Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I had puréed sugar pumpkin that I wanted to use to make something new. . . I combined this recipe with Lea Ogawa's Pumpkin Soup recipe from this site. I sauted onion, garlic, grated carrots and grated potatoes in a butter/olive oil mixture for about 5 minutes. Added bouillon, pumpkin, fresh thyme and pepper. Simmered about 30 minutes. Used blender (about a cup at a time) til smooth. Returned to pot. Added a combination of half & half and 2% milk (eyeballed it). Heated through. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made a double batch, it was a rave hit with family, had to give out copies od Recipe and containers of soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Love it! I add cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Loved this!!! - I did tweek it a little bit (I'm never able to cook any soups exactly like a recipe. I roasted one clove of garlic with the veggies (cause I love roasted garlic). Drizzled olive oil on the veggies cause its what we had. I used boxed chicken stock instead of water and bouillon. I used 2 cans of pumpkin instead of fresh (cause i'm lazy). I left out the potato. And I added a little Garam Masala seasoning. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoveJoy
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made a half recipe, {for 3 servings}. it was awesome! I might not even need the cream next time, it was thick and stew-like before adding the heavy cream. Super!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Yummy. I followed others' suggestion and roasted some garlic with the other veggies, which was a delicious addition. The potato diluted the pumpkin flavor, so I will try just half a potato next time. Over all, though, a filling and satisfying fall dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Loved it! I saved some time by using canned pumpkin. I think it was better than buying pumpkins out of season anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This another of my favorite recipes. My friends get really excited when I make it. I drizzle olive oil and salt on the veggies before putting them in the oven. Also I don't use very much nutmeg, just enough for a little of the flavor to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I have been making this recipe now for a couple of years, and it is definitely a fall/winter staple in my diet! I've found that steaming the vegetables for about 10-15 minutes before putting them in the oven allows you to cook them less time in the oven (about 30 minutes), therefore cutting down on the possibility of the vegetables burning and eliminating the little carbon flakes in the final product but still giving it a subtle smoky flavor. I also use olive oil as opposed to vegetable oil as I prefer its flavor, and use vegetable bouillon as opposed to chicken. Finally, I usually add 2-3 large cloves of garlic to the roasting vegetables about 10 minutes before they've finished roasting, which adds another element to the soup that really rounds it out. Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
If served this, I would eat it again. It could use more flavour. My husband and I agree that it could use more salt, and we're not usually salt lovers. There just isn't alot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States