Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kletol
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very good. I substituted the cream with yogurt and added a little cinnamon and agave syrup. I also had a small zucchini I chopped up and puréed into the soup. Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I made my own veggie stock in the same pot insted of the chicken. It is so good if you add a bit of nut meg and cinamin. when i put my pumpkin in i paniced because it wasnt getting soft and mixing with the soup. I found out its just perfect when you blend it. I seved it with a pinch of curry powder. That was amazing. You can also make this out of old jack'o'anrterns after Halloween if their still good, insted of throwing them out or putting them in the compost pile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and love it every time I have. It goes great with some good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I didn't want to go the store to buy the chicken stock, therefore I have used oyster sauce(only 1/2 cup). The end result was excellent. I have also used 1/4 cup of non fat milk and 1/4 whipping cream. Added a tablespoon of butter towards the end. The soup was creamy and rich in flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambiga Thiagarajah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Came out thinner than I expected. I added extra cream. Taste was so-so. I doubled the batch and didn't have enough chicken broth, so I put in vegetable broth. I think the latter added an unwanted flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is an easy to make, flavorful, soup. If you'd like to make it ahead simple stop after pureeing the soup and store. When ready to serve reheat the soup, add the cream, and wha-la!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Made this soup for Thanksgiving. Did not add the Thyme. Was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allamuchy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I grew sugar pumpkins in order to make pies for Thanksgiving. Unfortunately, they didn't ripen in time. . . So, I now have pumpkin to use for other things. We've never had pumpkin soup before. This is an excellent -- smooth, rich and flavorful . I did change it up a bit (inspired by Craig's a Pumpkin Soup recipe)-- I sauted the onion and garlic in a pat of butter and small amount of olive oil. I added grated carrots and potatoes and sauted about 5 minutes. Added the stock, thyme, salt and pepper and simmered for about 20 minutes. Added cooked/puréed pumpkin and dash of nutmeg until heated through. Blended, simmered, added combo of half & half and 2% milk. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was bland and had a weird texture. Maybe it was because I used baked and mashed pumpkin instead of fresh, but no one liked this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I had never had pumpkin soup before and decided to give it a try. Me and my boyfriend both enjoyed this soup. The pumpkin flavor is very subtle. The soup creamy and hearty. It's just a lot of work cutting up that pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States