Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I didn't want to go the store to buy the chicken stock, therefore I have used oyster sauce(only 1/2 cup). The end result was excellent. I have also used 1/4 cup of non fat milk and 1/4 whipping cream. Added a tablespoon of butter towards the end. The soup was creamy and rich in flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambiga Thiagarajah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Came out thinner than I expected. I added extra cream. Taste was so-so. I doubled the batch and didn't have enough chicken broth, so I put in vegetable broth. I think the latter added an unwanted flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is an easy to make, flavorful, soup. If you'd like to make it ahead simple stop after pureeing the soup and store. When ready to serve reheat the soup, add the cream, and wha-la!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Made this soup for Thanksgiving. Did not add the Thyme. Was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allamuchy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I grew sugar pumpkins in order to make pies for Thanksgiving. Unfortunately, they didn't ripen in time. . . So, I now have pumpkin to use for other things. We've never had pumpkin soup before. This is an excellent -- smooth, rich and flavorful . I did change it up a bit (inspired by Craig's a Pumpkin Soup recipe)-- I sauted the onion and garlic in a pat of butter and small amount of olive oil. I added grated carrots and potatoes and sauted about 5 minutes. Added the stock, thyme, salt and pepper and simmered for about 20 minutes. Added cooked/puréed pumpkin and dash of nutmeg until heated through. Blended, simmered, added combo of half & half and 2% milk. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was bland and had a weird texture. Maybe it was because I used baked and mashed pumpkin instead of fresh, but no one liked this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I had never had pumpkin soup before and decided to give it a try. Me and my boyfriend both enjoyed this soup. The pumpkin flavor is very subtle. The soup creamy and hearty. It's just a lot of work cutting up that pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
We thought this soup was delicious! I doubled this recipe I used chicken broth (what I had on hand)and also added fresh nutmeg and just added more pumpkin (because people said it was watery. I took some and froze for pumpkin chili and then I cut up 1 Goya Chipotle pepper (in adobo sauce)and added to the remainder, removed as much seed as I could and added cooked gnocchi at the end. A nice spicy pumpkin soup it turned out to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made a vegan version, with canned coconut milk instead of cream. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I had a hard time cubing fresh pumpkin. I might have gotten a really hard pumpkin though. Just obtaining the pumpkin took me almost an hour. The peppercorns did not get ground up during processing and I had to fish them out so nobody would swallow one. In the future I would just use ground pepper. When I first tried the soup, it just tasted like glorified broth, but after sitting in my bowl a few minutes it tasted better. I had some leftovers today for lunch & it was really good, better than last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States