Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I love this savory pumpkin soup recipe. I also like to add rosemary and a dash of red pepper. Sometimes I'll use greek yogurt or sour cream and some milk or half and half instead of the heavy cream to make it tangy. I also learned that it's easier to get the pumpkin from the skin if I half or quarter it and put it in the oven at 350 until it gets soft enough to easily peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paty
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
For the lactose intolerant that I am, I substituted 3/4 cup coconut milk instead, and added portobello mushrooms for extra Vitamin D (which gooes hand in hand for those of us who can't drink milk. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe for pumpkin soup, although i did make some adjustments to my personal taste. It was DELICIOUS! I halved the recipe and used 3 cups chicken broth (from bouillon cubes, did not add extra salt), i minced some onion and red bell pepper and sauted it with the garlic before adding the broth and pumpkin (probably used about 3 cups pumpkin puree). also added 2 bay leaves, some ground ginger, and cayenne pepper to up the flavor, before i did i thought it seemed like it still needed something. I also used milk instead of heavy cream and it was the perfect consistency. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
The soup didn't have any flavor to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I agree a little with another reviewer that the chicken flavor was too strong as the recipe stands, so I think next time I will substitute vegetable stock next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Needs zero seasoning and is by far the best pumpkin soup I've ever had or made. I add a dollop of sour cream instead of whipping cream but otherwise it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Fanastic. Added cooked chicken to the puree. Thickened it a bit with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. The flavor was fantastic but there was just to much both and the soup was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brianne Graham
Home Town: Micanopy, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I followed the measurements exactly and the soup tastes awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Really good! I used one whole (small) sugar pumpkin and followed the recipe pretty closely. Bonus was I had pumpkin seeds to roast as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States