Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
As some other reviewers, I am very confused about the great reviews for this recipe. There must be a mistake in the recipe, because when you add 6 cups of chicken stock you are going to end up with chicken stock soup with very little pumpkin in it. I followed the measurements exactly and the soup tastes awful. I have to go to buy more pumpkin tomorrow to fix the soup. Don't make the same mistake like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Really good! I used one whole (small) sugar pumpkin and followed the recipe pretty closely. Bonus was I had pumpkin seeds to roast as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Before you make this, visualize what it will taste like with the excess amount of chicken stock it calls for. This soup is not creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt O'Brien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Whoever submitted this recipe - A big thank you, it was delicious, we have vegetarians in the family so had to tweak the chicken stock to a home made veggie stock and it worked great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kletol
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very good. I substituted the cream with yogurt and added a little cinnamon and agave syrup. I also had a small zucchini I chopped up and puréed into the soup. Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I made my own veggie stock in the same pot insted of the chicken. It is so good if you add a bit of nut meg and cinamin. when i put my pumpkin in i paniced because it wasnt getting soft and mixing with the soup. I found out its just perfect when you blend it. I seved it with a pinch of curry powder. That was amazing. You can also make this out of old jack'o'anrterns after Halloween if their still good, insted of throwing them out or putting them in the compost pile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and love it every time I have. It goes great with some good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I didn't want to go the store to buy the chicken stock, therefore I have used oyster sauce(only 1/2 cup). The end result was excellent. I have also used 1/4 cup of non fat milk and 1/4 whipping cream. Added a tablespoon of butter towards the end. The soup was creamy and rich in flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambiga Thiagarajah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Came out thinner than I expected. I added extra cream. Taste was so-so. I doubled the batch and didn't have enough chicken broth, so I put in vegetable broth. I think the latter added an unwanted flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is an easy to make, flavorful, soup. If you'd like to make it ahead simple stop after pureeing the soup and store. When ready to serve reheat the soup, add the cream, and wha-la!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States