Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I did a smaller portion and I already had pureed pumpkin...I simmered 2 cups of pureed pumpkin, 4 cups of chicken broth, with sauteed onions and garlic (in olive oil) I added the spices in the recipe to taste - plus I seasoned with the nutmeg to taste as well. I brought to a boil, and then simmered for 30 minutes, at the end I also substituted the heavy cream with non-fat condensed milk- it turned out great and made it lower in fat. It is really a great recipe! Very savory with the taste of pumpkin throughout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FootballMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
My husband and I made this for our Halloween party and everyone loved it. It was also great as leftovers. The only change we made was to use dried thyme instead of fresh. Even a guy who said he didn't like pumpkin liked this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I had a lot of leftover pumpkin innards after halloween, so I thought I would give this recipe a shot. I did a few things differently- sauteed the onion before adding pumpkin and stock, used half vegetable and half chicken stock, and added extra garlic and peppercorns. It is absolutely fantastic. This is definitely going to be my official after halloween use-up-the-pumpkin recipe. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Lovely! Scrumptious! Filling! I added 1 tbsp of curry powder to spice this up some more along with half a can of mixed vegetables. Quite good. If you love curry, try adding 1/2 to 2 tbsp as desired. I sprinkled 3 dashes of ground nutmeg during the second simmer. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very good soup! I would recommend using the original recipe. I halved due to the 9 servings, but was making for lunch so it was more like 4 or 5 bowls. Hearty and easy to make. I garnished with some toasted pumpkin seeds and ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I added a chopped potato and a small chopped carrot without increasing the amount of liquid. Also used a bit of whole milk instead of cream - it didn't need much. Last of all, added about half a tablespoon of chopped ginger and half teaspoon of cayanne at the blending stage. Was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
My husband and I both loved this wonderful soup. He peeled the fresh pumpkin and let me do the rest. A wonderful creamy texture and flavor. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very impressed with the excellent flavor. I would not have thought to use thyme but it adds a great note to the soup. Once you get past peeling the pumpkin, not my favorite kitchen task, it is easy-peasee to make. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This recipe is awesome if you enjoy creamy potato soup but would like to switch it up a bit. The pumpkin taste is only slightly noticeable. If by any chance you're apprehensive about trying this recipe because you worry you'll feel like you're eating a pumpkin pie or heck, a watered down jack-o-lantern for that matter, you've got nothing to worry about (I myself can't stand pumpkin pie, but I love this stuff!). My fiance and I both agreed this recipe is awesome, but might be even better if there were cubes of potatoes added in at the start of the 2nd simmer to give this a bit more substance and something to bite into. If you don't have plans on using the other 1/2 of your pumpkin or the other 1/2 of the pint of whipping cream, it'd be in your best interest to double this recipe to save more money and possibly have left-overs for later if your family doesn't eat the whole pot in one sitting. I only made a single batch because the recipe writer claimed this made 9 servings (HA! The max for a single batch is 4 servings in my opinion). In addition to using vegetable broth in place of the chicken broth and totally eliminating the salt, I also used a potato masher rather than pureeing the soup in a blender. This gave the soup a little bit of texture and meant fewer dishes for me to clean later. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is very good. I had to make my own veg stock, instead of chicken and otherwise, did it like the recipe said. It is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pima, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States