Pumpkin Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made my own crust, and reduced the flour in the topping, so this review is only for the filling, which was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Pumpkin Shortbread bars rule! My husband and I love this recipe! I made just a few changes, such as I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of ginger, cloves and nutmeg. I also used 1 can of pumpkin instead of 1 cup. I put the pecans in the topping, not in the pumpkin batter. I will be making this again and again!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holligirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe is phenomenal! The things I did differently were the crust and the topping. It seemed so thin with the original crust recipe so I made another half batch. With advice from other viewers, I cut back the flour from the topping a bit. I also added some brown sugar to the topping. I added about a 1/3 cup brown sugar and then used about 1/4 cup white sugar. It was absolutely perfect! Family loved it; and, my co-workers (some who do not even like pumpkin) LOVED IT! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The following review is from Recipe Buzz - Delicious! Used this topping: 1/3 cup flour, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 t. salt. Whipped cream with 1 T. conf. sugar, 1/2 t. vanilla, pinch of instant coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and they are to die for! Very addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This rocked! I received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
5 stars, with modifications. I used a large jellyroll pan (11x17), tripled the crust and doubled the filling and the topping. To be more like a traditional shortbread, I substituted an equal amount of salt for vanilla. I think I could have gotten away with just a doubled crust, but some reviewers felt they didn't have enough crust so I went with a tripled batch. I added a total of about 1 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the doubled filling. I think it could use a little more, but it's all I had. Didn't have pecans so left them out. As with other reviewers, I cut the flour in the topping down to just 1/3cup and added 1/3cup brown sugar. Then doubled the whole thing. After baking the crust, I forgot to turn my oven down to 350F but it ended up baking just fine at 400F for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I would have liked to give 4.5 stars. Changed the topping slightly to even out the flour/sugar (more like a cobbler topping), but everything else was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These pumpkins bars are fantastic. Your guests will love them. I cut them in 1 and 1/2 inch squares. They are loaded with calories! but oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
love the buttery pumpkin flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States