Pumpkin Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These pumpkins bars are fantastic. Your guests will love them. I cut them in 1 and 1/2 inch squares. They are loaded with calories! but oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made my own crust, and reduced the flour in the topping, so this review is only for the filling, which was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
love the buttery pumpkin flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The following review is from Recipe Buzz - Delicious! Used this topping: 1/3 cup flour, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 t. salt. Whipped cream with 1 T. conf. sugar, 1/2 t. vanilla, pinch of instant coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and they are to die for! Very addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe is phenomenal! The things I did differently were the crust and the topping. It seemed so thin with the original crust recipe so I made another half batch. With advice from other viewers, I cut back the flour from the topping a bit. I also added some brown sugar to the topping. I added about a 1/3 cup brown sugar and then used about 1/4 cup white sugar. It was absolutely perfect! Family loved it; and, my co-workers (some who do not even like pumpkin) LOVED IT! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
5 stars, with modifications. I used a large jellyroll pan (11x17), tripled the crust and doubled the filling and the topping. To be more like a traditional shortbread, I substituted an equal amount of salt for vanilla. I think I could have gotten away with just a doubled crust, but some reviewers felt they didn't have enough crust so I went with a tripled batch. I added a total of about 1 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the doubled filling. I think it could use a little more, but it's all I had. Didn't have pecans so left them out. As with other reviewers, I cut the flour in the topping down to just 1/3cup and added 1/3cup brown sugar. Then doubled the whole thing. After baking the crust, I forgot to turn my oven down to 350F but it ended up baking just fine at 400F for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This rocked! I received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Pumpkin Shortbread bars rule! My husband and I love this recipe! I made just a few changes, such as I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of ginger, cloves and nutmeg. I also used 1 can of pumpkin instead of 1 cup. I put the pecans in the topping, not in the pumpkin batter. I will be making this again and again!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holligirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I would have liked to give 4.5 stars. Changed the topping slightly to even out the flour/sugar (more like a cobbler topping), but everything else was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States