Pumpkin Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Perfect BUT...you need to make some modifications: 1. classic shortbread has salt and NO VANILLA. Switch out the 1/4 tsp vanilla for 1/4 tsp salt. 2. the crumble has too much of an uncooked flour taste. Cut back to 1/3 C and add 1/3 C brown sugar and 1/4 tsp salt. I also baked these for 10 minutes longer than directed so the topping would slightly brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These pumpkins bars are fantastic. Your guests will love them. I cut them in 1 and 1/2 inch squares. They are loaded with calories! but oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I was hopeful, but then sadly dissappointed in this recipe. The shortbread wasn't sweet enough for my liking, as it ended up tasting more like pie crust. Overall i thought this was good, it just wasn't what I was looking for based on the name. I added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the pumpkin mix, and added the nuts in with the topping. The topping needs less flour: 1/3 c flour, 1/3 c white sugar, 1/3 c brown sugar worked great. I used an 8x8 pan because i didn't think i could get the crust spread out in the bigger pan. I ended up cooked for 10 min longer because of the thickness. If you're looking for a pumpkin pie bar, this woud work. I'll keep searching for a better use for pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Pumpkin Shortbread bars rule! My husband and I love this recipe! I made just a few changes, such as I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of ginger, cloves and nutmeg. I also used 1 can of pumpkin instead of 1 cup. I put the pecans in the topping, not in the pumpkin batter. I will be making this again and again!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holligirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by momofthreekids
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
These were yummy, I was a little disappointed in the topping. It seemed like too much flour. I would have preferred it a little less floury. Next time I make it I will use 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white sugar and maybe a little more butter and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Easy and simple. I add some cinnamon and nutmeg to the pumpkin mix. I took the reviewers advice in using 1/3 c flour, 1/3 c sugar, and 1/3 c brown sugar for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe is phenomenal! The things I did differently were the crust and the topping. It seemed so thin with the original crust recipe so I made another half batch. With advice from other viewers, I cut back the flour from the topping a bit. I also added some brown sugar to the topping. I added about a 1/3 cup brown sugar and then used about 1/4 cup white sugar. It was absolutely perfect! Family loved it; and, my co-workers (some who do not even like pumpkin) LOVED IT! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This rocked! I received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I would have liked to give 4.5 stars. Changed the topping slightly to even out the flour/sugar (more like a cobbler topping), but everything else was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
5 stars, with modifications. I used a large jellyroll pan (11x17), tripled the crust and doubled the filling and the topping. To be more like a traditional shortbread, I substituted an equal amount of salt for vanilla. I think I could have gotten away with just a doubled crust, but some reviewers felt they didn't have enough crust so I went with a tripled batch. I added a total of about 1 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the doubled filling. I think it could use a little more, but it's all I had. Didn't have pecans so left them out. As with other reviewers, I cut the flour in the topping down to just 1/3cup and added 1/3cup brown sugar. Then doubled the whole thing. After baking the crust, I forgot to turn my oven down to 350F but it ended up baking just fine at 400F for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States