Pumpkin Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These pumpkins bars are fantastic. Your guests will love them. I cut them in 1 and 1/2 inch squares. They are loaded with calories! but oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momofthreekids
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
These were yummy, I was a little disappointed in the topping. It seemed like too much flour. I would have preferred it a little less floury. Next time I make it I will use 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white sugar and maybe a little more butter and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I was expecting more of a crumble to go on top and it was dry and floury. The topping amount seemed out of proportion for the other two layers. I don't think this worked quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I too found these to have a very heavy flour taste. I agree the topping was probably the reason. I think I would go with something crunchier more cinnamon flavored. I think the pumpkin layer needs some added spices, the usual pie ones. You never know until you try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Perfect BUT...you need to make some modifications: 1. classic shortbread has salt and NO VANILLA. Switch out the 1/4 tsp vanilla for 1/4 tsp salt. 2. the crumble has too much of an uncooked flour taste. Cut back to 1/3 C and add 1/3 C brown sugar and 1/4 tsp salt. I also baked these for 10 minutes longer than directed so the topping would slightly brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
love the buttery pumpkin flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I was hopeful, but then sadly dissappointed in this recipe. The shortbread wasn't sweet enough for my liking, as it ended up tasting more like pie crust. Overall i thought this was good, it just wasn't what I was looking for based on the name. I added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the pumpkin mix, and added the nuts in with the topping. The topping needs less flour: 1/3 c flour, 1/3 c white sugar, 1/3 c brown sugar worked great. I used an 8x8 pan because i didn't think i could get the crust spread out in the bigger pan. I ended up cooked for 10 min longer because of the thickness. If you're looking for a pumpkin pie bar, this woud work. I'll keep searching for a better use for pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made my own crust, and reduced the flour in the topping, so this review is only for the filling, which was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe is phenomenal! The things I did differently were the crust and the topping. It seemed so thin with the original crust recipe so I made another half batch. With advice from other viewers, I cut back the flour from the topping a bit. I also added some brown sugar to the topping. I added about a 1/3 cup brown sugar and then used about 1/4 cup white sugar. It was absolutely perfect! Family loved it; and, my co-workers (some who do not even like pumpkin) LOVED IT! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Everything came out fine except for the topping; I think there's something wrong with the measurements in this recipe. No way do you need that much flour in the topping. I'd make this again if I had a better topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States