Pumpkin Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
5 stars, with modifications. I used a large jellyroll pan (11x17), tripled the crust and doubled the filling and the topping. To be more like a traditional shortbread, I substituted an equal amount of salt for vanilla. I think I could have gotten away with just a doubled crust, but some reviewers felt they didn't have enough crust so I went with a tripled batch. I added a total of about 1 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the doubled filling. I think it could use a little more, but it's all I had. Didn't have pecans so left them out. As with other reviewers, I cut the flour in the topping down to just 1/3cup and added 1/3cup brown sugar. Then doubled the whole thing. After baking the crust, I forgot to turn my oven down to 350F but it ended up baking just fine at 400F for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Easy and simple. I add some cinnamon and nutmeg to the pumpkin mix. I took the reviewers advice in using 1/3 c flour, 1/3 c sugar, and 1/3 c brown sugar for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and they are to die for! Very addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The following review is from Recipe Buzz - Delicious! Used this topping: 1/3 cup flour, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 t. salt. Whipped cream with 1 T. conf. sugar, 1/2 t. vanilla, pinch of instant coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Amazing! A great way to eat vitamin A! I followed the advice from the other reviews ( less flour for the crumb mix and salt instead of vanilla, and some brown sugar for the crumb). I also doubled the shortbread and the crumb mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COREENIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Everything came out fine except for the topping; I think there's something wrong with the measurements in this recipe. No way do you need that much flour in the topping. I'd make this again if I had a better topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe is phenomenal! The things I did differently were the crust and the topping. It seemed so thin with the original crust recipe so I made another half batch. With advice from other viewers, I cut back the flour from the topping a bit. I also added some brown sugar to the topping. I added about a 1/3 cup brown sugar and then used about 1/4 cup white sugar. It was absolutely perfect! Family loved it; and, my co-workers (some who do not even like pumpkin) LOVED IT! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made my own crust, and reduced the flour in the topping, so this review is only for the filling, which was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I was hopeful, but then sadly dissappointed in this recipe. The shortbread wasn't sweet enough for my liking, as it ended up tasting more like pie crust. Overall i thought this was good, it just wasn't what I was looking for based on the name. I added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the pumpkin mix, and added the nuts in with the topping. The topping needs less flour: 1/3 c flour, 1/3 c white sugar, 1/3 c brown sugar worked great. I used an 8x8 pan because i didn't think i could get the crust spread out in the bigger pan. I ended up cooked for 10 min longer because of the thickness. If you're looking for a pumpkin pie bar, this woud work. I'll keep searching for a better use for pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
love the buttery pumpkin flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States