Pumpkin Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
These bars were easy and simple to make. My kids loved them! Personally, I think I used too much pumpkin (my can was 796mL) so perhaps next time I will double the shortbread base or use half a can of pumpkin. I took the advice of another reviewer and omitted the vanilla from the shortbread and added salt. As well as decreased the amount of flour in the topping. I will add nutmeg, ginger and cinnamon to the pumpkin next time as well for added flavour but otherwise, I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is pretty good. I was surprised there was no spices in this recipe so I added my own. The usual pumpkin spices. If I had not added any this recipe would have been a huge fail, with no flavour in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This recipe for the 9 x 13 pan yielded a very thin bar. I would have liked the pumpkin layer to be thicker. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and cut the flour in the topping down to one third cup and even then still found it to be a bit floury. Sorry but I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I followed the notes left by everyone, and these turned out amazing. Just made them for Thanksgiving, and they were a big hit! Would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I really should have read the reviews again. Because i made the recipe to a t and i felt like there wasn't enough crust or filling for that size of a pan so i made it in a 9x9 pan and still feel like there wasn't enough crust. Plus i should've added the fall spices, like cinnamon and nutmeg. But it's all good, it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I loved this! I love pumpkin when it has a mild flavor. For this reason, pumpkin pie is usually not my favorite. This was a great hit at my party for pumpkin lovers and non-lovers alike. Like other reviewers, I also modified the topping mix to have a little more butter and sugar. I used brown sugar, white sugar, flower, butter and old fashioned oats. I just started and kept going until it tasted right. I think mine ended up making more topping than what the recipe called for, but I think that would be better anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Yum! I could tell by reading the ingredients that the topping included too much flour and the filling needed the addition of a "fall" spice. After reading the reviews and looking at the photos, I decided to go with "footballgrl16" review and make the bars exactly as she recommended. I am so glad I did. Everyone loved the taste/texture combinations and I recived many compliments. It reminded some of a pumpkin pie. I wouldn't hesitate to make these again exactly like this batch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I would have liked to give 4.5 stars. Changed the topping slightly to even out the flour/sugar (more like a cobbler topping), but everything else was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Pumpkin Shortbread bars rule! My husband and I love this recipe! I made just a few changes, such as I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of ginger, cloves and nutmeg. I also used 1 can of pumpkin instead of 1 cup. I put the pecans in the topping, not in the pumpkin batter. I will be making this again and again!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holligirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This rocked! I received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States