Pumpkin Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Those are awsome! The only mistake I did was to store them in the fridge, they were kind of mushy the next day and the filling was more hard. Otherwise excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XxlilaxX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Not my favorite. I was on a baking roll and this is just one of several deserts around the house and for my family at least it was the one ignored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was okay, but a lot less pumpkin flavored than I thought. Next time I would add some more pumpkin puree. Also I didn't see the suggestion about adding cinnamon and nutmeg until after I made these. Next time I will add the spices. Also I think the measurements for the topping were a little off. Less flour was needed. All in all in was tasty but could have had more of a pumpkin taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
My boys love these treats! I also added 1tsp cinnamon, /4 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. Reducing the flour in the topping mix is necessary. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Greely, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
These bars were easy and simple to make. My kids loved them! Personally, I think I used too much pumpkin (my can was 796mL) so perhaps next time I will double the shortbread base or use half a can of pumpkin. I took the advice of another reviewer and omitted the vanilla from the shortbread and added salt. As well as decreased the amount of flour in the topping. I will add nutmeg, ginger and cinnamon to the pumpkin next time as well for added flavour but otherwise, I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is pretty good. I was surprised there was no spices in this recipe so I added my own. The usual pumpkin spices. If I had not added any this recipe would have been a huge fail, with no flavour in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This recipe for the 9 x 13 pan yielded a very thin bar. I would have liked the pumpkin layer to be thicker. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and cut the flour in the topping down to one third cup and even then still found it to be a bit floury. Sorry but I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I followed the notes left by everyone, and these turned out amazing. Just made them for Thanksgiving, and they were a big hit! Would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I really should have read the reviews again. Because i made the recipe to a t and i felt like there wasn't enough crust or filling for that size of a pan so i made it in a 9x9 pan and still feel like there wasn't enough crust. Plus i should've added the fall spices, like cinnamon and nutmeg. But it's all good, it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I loved this! I love pumpkin when it has a mild flavor. For this reason, pumpkin pie is usually not my favorite. This was a great hit at my party for pumpkin lovers and non-lovers alike. Like other reviewers, I also modified the topping mix to have a little more butter and sugar. I used brown sugar, white sugar, flower, butter and old fashioned oats. I just started and kept going until it tasted right. I think mine ended up making more topping than what the recipe called for, but I think that would be better anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States