Pumpkin Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This has become one of my go-to recipes for potlucks. It doubles very easily to use a large can of pumpkin. I do make the following substitutions: 1c. applesauce for the oil, 1c. whole wheat flour for 1c. AP, extra cinnamon and 1/2t. ground ginger,and I add chopped apple, dried cranberries or chocolate chips to jazz it up a little. A simple cake that everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This recipe goes together very well. I put in a touch of nutmeg and I went heavier on the cinnamon. It was done in 20 minutes. Be sparing on the frosting because it can overpower the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This receipe is unbelievable....everyone I made this for LOVED it!! The only thing I changed was I doubled the icing and how I made it. I used I 8oz. Bar of cream cheese, 10 tablespoons of butter, 3 teaspoons of vanilla and 1 1/4 cup of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I made this cake for a treat day at work, and my co-workers raved about how great it was! This is an easy recipe, very moist and tastes delicious. The only thing I changed was that I used Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site (per other reviewers) and it turned out awesome. Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newlywed1018

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I've been making this cake every halloween for about 5 years it is my absolute favorite. I like to double it and bake in a large foil pan ( like you can find at your local $ store) It's great with vanilla buttercream, cream cheese, or chocolate frosting. I am trying this year unfrosted in mini bundt cake pans with chocolate chips. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I and my entire group of tasters did not care for this recipe, very heavy oil taste, definitely not enough spice, even the frosting was disappointing. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
THIS CAKE IS DELICIOUS!!! I USED MY OWN CREAM CHEESE FROSTING RECIPE THAT MAKES MORE. I LIKE LOTS OF FROSTING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I just made this for a potluck lunch at work, and they were fabulous. I made a few changes for my own personal tastes: I substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for half of the oil; I added a generous dose of pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon; and I only used 3 eggs. I also cooked them in two 9x13 pans to get a thinner, more "barlike" finished product. Worked perfectly! The bars were thin, moist, and more dense than cake--exactly what I wanted! I didn't measure for the frosting, just threw in 5 T. of butter, 8 oz. of reduced fat cream cheese, confectioner's sugar to taste, and enough milk to make it spreadable. I also added about a tablespoon of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon for flavor. So delicious! I'd recommend keeping them in the fridge because of the cream cheese in the frosting. Definitely worth making, and easy to tweak to fit your health needs or personal tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blueangel_jxi
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueangel_jxi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is great recipe. One lady said she used applesuace instead of oil. I always use applesauce if it calls for oil in all my cakes. It is more moist and is less fat in the end..Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra1949

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Central City, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States