Pumpkin Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I love this cake. I made one change nstead of using 1 cup of oil I used a 1/4 and filled the rest of the cup with unsweetend applesauce made the cake very moist without all the calories from the oil. My family, friends and co-workers love it too and was surprised when i told them about the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Brought this cake to work & everyone loved it. I made in a 9x13 pan and baked for 40 min. Also, I used 1 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon. I took the suggestion from another review & used the Cream Cheese Frosing II recipe from this site instead of the frosting that is part of this cake recipe. Lastly, I will say that this cake is especially good chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This recipe is a keeper!!! I took it to a Halloween party this morning, and I've been eating on the leftovers all day. The cake turned out so moist and yummy. I did use pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 t. of cinnamon to give it an extra bit of spice. I baked it in a stoneware bar pan which was perfect for it. Thank you for sharing! I've been making this cake for 3 years. I always double the frosting and use about 3/4 of it on the cake. I use 1 T. of the Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus spice in place of just regular cinnamon. It's also best when baked as a sheet cake, in a stoneware bar pan. It bakes fine in 25 min. that way. I've given out this recipe dozens of times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I've made this a lot over the last year and have made a few changes that haven't affected the quality: three quarter c. oil, 1.5 cups sugar and 3 eggs. I sometimes add ginger/nutmeg/cloves if I have them around. The cake has a great flavor and is quick to mix and bake so is a favorite at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I used pumpkin pie spice II (this site) instead of just the cinnamon. It is good however I may double it, so it can taste a bit more like a spice cake too. I also used the cream cheese frosting II, which is heavenly. I make pumpkin cupcakes with this recipe and the only thing I change is using 3 eggs (cant tell the difference) and 1/2 c. oil 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce. I tried with 1/4 c. oil and the rest applesauce but it was too sticky that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I gave this a 4-star rating because Hubs rated it as such because he really enjoyed it, but we disagree in our review. I thought this fairly standard recipe was good enough, and certainly moist, but this is not a recipe I’d pull out again and make a point of making. Its biggest flaw is that a mere teaspoon of cinnamon is not enough spice to give this cake the flavor it needs. I don’t have an issue with cinnamon being the only spice used; it just needs a lot more of it – like maybe a full tablespoon! And I’d actually prefer the complexity of flavor that any combination of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger, or allspice would contribute. Just as is, the taste falls flat. Complicating matters is the wimpy amount of frosting, which I didn’t use. A more traditional amount of frosting, 1/2 c. butter, 1 (8 oz.) package of cream cheese, 3-1/2 – 4 cups of powdered sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla is much more suitable. But Hubs disagreed. He liked it just fine. Three stars (barely) from me, four from him. I baked this as a 9” layer cake, about 33 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
I sent this recipe to all of my sisters after I made it for my husbands, everyone in my family( I have 5 sisters) makes this recipe now-they just love it. My youngest sisters friends arrived unexpected to her house the next day after she brought it to a party and they demanded the recipe...It is an awesome recipe!!!!! Thanks for submitting it...It is an instant family favorite now...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made this for my husband because he loves pumpkin pie and I do not, so I was hoping this was a good compromise. What a hit! I, too, added more cream cheese in my frosting, and used a cinnamond blend (it included nutmet)rather than plain cinnamon. I'm not sure how much of it I used as I ended up dumping rather than measuring. I used a 9x13 inch pan so it took longer to cook (use the toothpick test!) but it was AMAZINGLY moist. I took some to work and was treated like a gourmet chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Very good I made this into cupcakes. Cut the oil to 1/4 c. as previous poster suggested and replaced the rest with applesauce. Cut down the sugar. Did not add walnuts for people at work with allergies. Added some pumpkin spice. Baked for about 25 mins here made about 22 cupcakes. Everyone ate them up quickly and asked for the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this cake quick the other day just before leaving for work so, it was still slightly warm when I arrived. I put the icing on it when I arrived there and it was GONE within an hour. My co-workers "LOVED" it and everyone wanted the recipe. The only thing I did differently was, I also added 1 and 1/2 teas. of pumpkin pie spice. This cake truly is better than pumpkin pie! It's very moist and rich and the cream cheese icing adds just the right touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States