Pumpkin Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I used pumpkin pie spice II (this site) instead of just the cinnamon. It is good however I may double it, so it can taste a bit more like a spice cake too. I also used the cream cheese frosting II, which is heavenly. I make pumpkin cupcakes with this recipe and the only thing I change is using 3 eggs (cant tell the difference) and 1/2 c. oil 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce. I tried with 1/4 c. oil and the rest applesauce but it was too sticky that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this cake quick the other day just before leaving for work so, it was still slightly warm when I arrived. I put the icing on it when I arrived there and it was GONE within an hour. My co-workers "LOVED" it and everyone wanted the recipe. The only thing I did differently was, I also added 1 and 1/2 teas. of pumpkin pie spice. This cake truly is better than pumpkin pie! It's very moist and rich and the cream cheese icing adds just the right touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Very good I made this into cupcakes. Cut the oil to 1/4 c. as previous poster suggested and replaced the rest with applesauce. Cut down the sugar. Did not add walnuts for people at work with allergies. Added some pumpkin spice. Baked for about 25 mins here made about 22 cupcakes. Everyone ate them up quickly and asked for the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made a trial of this cake today. Despite not having enough flour, not having the size cake pan that is listed, and with two kids trying to help, the cake turned out great! I'm making for Thanksgiving and it will be that much better. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This cake is fabulous! I did make 2 small changes. I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup of the oil and I used 2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon. I also used Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site rather than the frosting in the recipe. Baked it in a 13x9 pan for about 40 mins. Everyone loved it at my tailgate party last weekend and I plan to make it again this weekend. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I normally buy pumpkin roll from the Amish and I love it. I decided to make this for a bonfire party a couple weeks ago and we decided that this was almost better then that! Very good recipe and deffinately will make it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Eh. Too much baking soda gave the cake a bitter taste. Too much sugar compared to cream cheese in the frosting...not much of that cream cheesy flavor...just very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made this for a Halloween pot luck. It was a huge hit at the office. I doubled the frosting portion and skipped the milk. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Very good, dense cake. Bake on a cookie sheet 15x10x1. Use the Cream Cheese II frosting recipe on this site. (I didn't try the icing in the recipe, because the CCII recipe is great.) Refrigerate, then cut into bite size squares, diamonds or logs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I am a teacher and wanted to make something for my girls that I work with...OH MY GOSH is all I can say it was wonderful. I did have to watch it though the time is a little off as to most ovens are different. Thank you for sharing, I am not a pumpkin fan but LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States