Pumpkin Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This recipe is delicious. It never lasts long around my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgleason

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Like many others, I used a lot more spices than the recipe called for. I probably used 3 Tbsp. cinnamon, 2 Tbsp. each of nutmeg, allspice, and ginger. Also, I only had 9 x 13 pan so I baked it for about 10 min. longer but it was still slightly uncooked at some places in the center. Additionally, I used 8 oz cream cheese and 6 Tbsp butter for the frosting, but the same amount of powdered sugar (didn't want it too sweet) and no milk. All in all, if you make some tweaks, this is a delicious and moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I gave this a 4-star rating because Hubs rated it as such because he really enjoyed it, but we disagree in our review. I thought this fairly standard recipe was good enough, and certainly moist, but this is not a recipe I’d pull out again and make a point of making. Its biggest flaw is that a mere teaspoon of cinnamon is not enough spice to give this cake the flavor it needs. I don’t have an issue with cinnamon being the only spice used; it just needs a lot more of it – like maybe a full tablespoon! And I’d actually prefer the complexity of flavor that any combination of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger, or allspice would contribute. Just as is, the taste falls flat. Complicating matters is the wimpy amount of frosting, which I didn’t use. A more traditional amount of frosting, 1/2 c. butter, 1 (8 oz.) package of cream cheese, 3-1/2 – 4 cups of powdered sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla is much more suitable. But Hubs disagreed. He liked it just fine. Three stars (barely) from me, four from him. I baked this as a 9” layer cake, about 33 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I changed the oil to half cup and half cup butter. Added 2tsp cinnamon, 1tsp ginger 1/4 tsp cloves and 2 tsp vanilla! Light moist and fluffy. Excellent! Hope some is left in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I have a friend who absolutely loves pumpkin anything, so I made a double recipe of this in two 13x9 cake pans for her birthday and stacked them. I baked the cakes for 25 minutes, and the tops were quite brown. However, when I levelled the layers off, I found the centres were undercooked a bit (probably because I used smaller pans than recommended). I scooped out the uncooked parts and filled the holes in with the cake scraps; nobody noticed. The parts of the cake that was well cooked were wonderful. It was moist, but still had the texture of a cake, and held up very well under the fondant, and with the carving. To me, the pumpkin taste wasn't very strong, and my boyfriend guessed that it was carrot cake. However, when I got the birthday girl to guess, she knew it was pumpkin on the first bite. I used a cream cheese frosting, not really following any particular recipe proportions, and flavoured it with a bit of lemon juice, cinnamon, and just a hint of ground cloves to complement the pumpkin; it turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This recipe was a great starting point for a moist sheet cake. I knew without experimenting that it would need more spices. I added more cinnamon as well as gloves and a dash of nutmeg. I believe I used 3/4 cup of oil. The only other change that I will make next time is to increase the salt to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent cake. I eliminated all the oil and used 1 c. of applesauce instead and it turned out really well. Hubby loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this for a friend's bday, Everyone loved it! The only issue was with the icing, it was really really runny. Next time I will follow suggestions from other commentators and definitely use another icing recipe. Other than that, I was really proud!! Everyone was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by askafriend

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Very good. It was really good with golden raisins added to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Matlack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I love this cake; it's always a big hit. It's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States