Pumpkin Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is recipe box worthy! Moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Perfect, would have given a five but I added a teaspoon of pumpkin spice and 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves. Otherwise perfectly moist and yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ameliamae
Home Town: Blue Earth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Made with 1/2 C. apple sauce and 1/2 C. oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bberte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made the recipe as is and found it relatively easy to prepare. I baked the cake for 35 minutes then took it out the oven and let it cool for a while. I finished it off with the cream cheese frosting and sprinkles of chopped walnuts. Everyone thought this was great and ate it all up. The cake itself was moist but I thought the flavor was just ok-a little on the bland side. To me I think it could have used a lot more cinnamon; maybe even pumpkin spice for a more rounded flavor. I felt that there wasn’t enough cream cheese frosting; leaving me with a very thin layer to work with. One (3 ounce) package cream cheese, 5 tablespoons butter or margarine and 1 ¾ cups of confectioner’s sugar just wasn’t enough for the entire cake. I would have preferred more cream cheese frosting and a thicker consistency to spread generously over the cake. It was creamy and I could taste the sweetness of the frosting. Everyone else enjoyed this and that is what counts. Thou I have to give this 4 stars based upon the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This recipe is delicious. It never lasts long around my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgleason

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Like many others, I used a lot more spices than the recipe called for. I probably used 3 Tbsp. cinnamon, 2 Tbsp. each of nutmeg, allspice, and ginger. Also, I only had 9 x 13 pan so I baked it for about 10 min. longer but it was still slightly uncooked at some places in the center. Additionally, I used 8 oz cream cheese and 6 Tbsp butter for the frosting, but the same amount of powdered sugar (didn't want it too sweet) and no milk. All in all, if you make some tweaks, this is a delicious and moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I gave this a 4-star rating because Hubs rated it as such because he really enjoyed it, but we disagree in our review. I thought this fairly standard recipe was good enough, and certainly moist, but this is not a recipe I’d pull out again and make a point of making. Its biggest flaw is that a mere teaspoon of cinnamon is not enough spice to give this cake the flavor it needs. I don’t have an issue with cinnamon being the only spice used; it just needs a lot more of it – like maybe a full tablespoon! And I’d actually prefer the complexity of flavor that any combination of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger, or allspice would contribute. Just as is, the taste falls flat. Complicating matters is the wimpy amount of frosting, which I didn’t use. A more traditional amount of frosting, 1/2 c. butter, 1 (8 oz.) package of cream cheese, 3-1/2 – 4 cups of powdered sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla is much more suitable. But Hubs disagreed. He liked it just fine. Three stars (barely) from me, four from him. I baked this as a 9” layer cake, about 33 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I changed the oil to half cup and half cup butter. Added 2tsp cinnamon, 1tsp ginger 1/4 tsp cloves and 2 tsp vanilla! Light moist and fluffy. Excellent! Hope some is left in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I have a friend who absolutely loves pumpkin anything, so I made a double recipe of this in two 13x9 cake pans for her birthday and stacked them. I baked the cakes for 25 minutes, and the tops were quite brown. However, when I levelled the layers off, I found the centres were undercooked a bit (probably because I used smaller pans than recommended). I scooped out the uncooked parts and filled the holes in with the cake scraps; nobody noticed. The parts of the cake that was well cooked were wonderful. It was moist, but still had the texture of a cake, and held up very well under the fondant, and with the carving. To me, the pumpkin taste wasn't very strong, and my boyfriend guessed that it was carrot cake. However, when I got the birthday girl to guess, she knew it was pumpkin on the first bite. I used a cream cheese frosting, not really following any particular recipe proportions, and flavoured it with a bit of lemon juice, cinnamon, and just a hint of ground cloves to complement the pumpkin; it turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This recipe was a great starting point for a moist sheet cake. I knew without experimenting that it would need more spices. I added more cinnamon as well as gloves and a dash of nutmeg. I believe I used 3/4 cup of oil. The only other change that I will make next time is to increase the salt to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States