Pumpkin Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
A very nice moist cake, though it could use a lot more spices. I used about 2t cinnamon and 1t each nutmeg and allspice which gave it just the right flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgett_B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this as a birthday cake yesterday. Since I'm gluten free, I used Pamela's Baking Mix. Made the following modifications and no one could believe the cake was homemade or GF: Didn't add baking soda (or was it powder) because the baking mix has it already. Replaced half oil with half organic sugarfree applesauce. Increased cinnamon, added some nutmeg and cardamom. Replaced 2 cups white sugar with one of brown and one of birch sugar (xylitol). Made three layers in an 11 x 15 pan, sandwiched the layers using cream cheese frosting II (doubled the recipe but used only 1 1/4 10x sugar). Decorated with toasted pecan halves and shaved chocolate. Huge rave reviews all night. Didn't even bother to tell anyone that the cake was GF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
delicious! easy! moist! I THREW IN SOME CHOc chips! kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Pretty good cake. Easy to make. Texture was perfectly moist. Will add a little more spice next time for more flavor. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very easy to make and I topped it with vanilla frosting mixed with cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This cake is excellent! It took me 45 minutes to bake. I just made my own cream cheese frosting - 1 stick butter, 1 block of cream cheese, a capful of vanilla extract and confectioners sugar as needed. I probably used about a cup since I like my cream cheese frosting, cream cheesy tasting.. Yumm-o's! Moist cake hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkikoGurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hanover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This is sooooooooo good! It's a perfect blend of spices and it's moist. The cream cheese frosting makes the cake even better! This is one of my favorite cakes EVER :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Used applesauce (had never heard of that before!) like others recommended. SO good! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This has become one of my go-to recipes for potlucks. It doubles very easily to use a large can of pumpkin. I do make the following substitutions: 1c. applesauce for the oil, 1c. whole wheat flour for 1c. AP, extra cinnamon and 1/2t. ground ginger,and I add chopped apple, dried cranberries or chocolate chips to jazz it up a little. A simple cake that everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This recipe goes together very well. I put in a touch of nutmeg and I went heavier on the cinnamon. It was done in 20 minutes. Be sparing on the frosting because it can overpower the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States