Pumpkin Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I have a friend who absolutely loves pumpkin anything, so I made a double recipe of this in two 13x9 cake pans for her birthday and stacked them. I baked the cakes for 25 minutes, and the tops were quite brown. However, when I levelled the layers off, I found the centres were undercooked a bit (probably because I used smaller pans than recommended). I scooped out the uncooked parts and filled the holes in with the cake scraps; nobody noticed. The parts of the cake that was well cooked were wonderful. It was moist, but still had the texture of a cake, and held up very well under the fondant, and with the carving. To me, the pumpkin taste wasn't very strong, and my boyfriend guessed that it was carrot cake. However, when I got the birthday girl to guess, she knew it was pumpkin on the first bite. I used a cream cheese frosting, not really following any particular recipe proportions, and flavoured it with a bit of lemon juice, cinnamon, and just a hint of ground cloves to complement the pumpkin; it turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This recipe was a great starting point for a moist sheet cake. I knew without experimenting that it would need more spices. I added more cinnamon as well as gloves and a dash of nutmeg. I believe I used 3/4 cup of oil. The only other change that I will make next time is to increase the salt to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent cake. I eliminated all the oil and used 1 c. of applesauce instead and it turned out really well. Hubby loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this for a friend's bday, Everyone loved it! The only issue was with the icing, it was really really runny. Next time I will follow suggestions from other commentators and definitely use another icing recipe. Other than that, I was really proud!! Everyone was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by askafriend

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Very good. It was really good with golden raisins added to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Matlack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I love this cake; it's always a big hit. It's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very delicious. My family and children love this cake. We put WHIPPED CREME on top and it's perfect. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this cake for Thanksgiving this year. My whole family love it! No one ate the pumpkin pie. The only change I made was to double the frosting. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was awesome! I made this for Thanksgiving dessert instead of pie this year. I used applesauce instead of oil, just a personal preference and I frosted the cake with the Nutty Cream Cheese frosting on this site. It was very yummy! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_hughes78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My family loves this cake! I have made it twice now and it has gotten rave reviews both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkins, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States