Pumpkin Seeds with Cinnamon and Salt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I tried it with Butternut squash seeds and they spent no more than 20 total minutes in the oven since they're smaller. Also, I didn't have enough seeds so I just tried twice as much salt as cinnamon, and added a pinch of pumpkin spice. I didn't end up using all of the spice, so I tossed the rest of at the very end. Delicious, not very sweet and easy to eat. I recommend the salt-cinnamon mix mixed into melted butter as well and tossed over popcorn (I've done that since I was little, so I was glad I found I could utilize the seeds similarly. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Just made these tonight. Tasted like any other batch of pumpkin seeds. Nothing special :-/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rika

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was different but tasty. I boiled the seeds for 5 minutes, strained them, then added the salt and cinnamon. There's no need for cooking spray as long as you use aluminum foil and stir every 5 or some minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I'm not sure if it's just personal taste or if I did something wrong, but I really did not care for the combination of cinnamon & salt at all. I ended up adding some sugar to the seeds in a bowl, and spraying them with an oil-sprayer while stirring frantically in an attempt to get the sugar to stick and change the flavor. To me, it was just an awful combo of bitter + salty, rather than the divine spicy + salty flavor other reviewers raved about. My husband felt the same way. My kids seemed to really like them, though...maybe b/c they helped make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
i actully tried this they burned i followed it to the tee but what i tasted i wasn't very fond of the taste thought they would be sweeter thanks, joy kocher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
While they are cooking awee they smell absolutely delicious! And they taste that 2!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I like pumpkin seeds, but I don't like the worsteshire (or however you spell it) sauce. I was looking around and found this one! I was afraid that the simplicity of the recipe was going to make it not very good, along with the distinct flavor of cinnamon. ...but when we tried it, MAN it was good! The cinnamon is not too overpowering and the salt is a good balance for the flavor. They are PERFECT! ...at least for me. I'd recommend them to anyone wanting to do something with pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I love this! I was a bit hesitant about the cinnamon and salt combo but after reading the reviews I was convinced to try it. I took someones advice and doubled the cinnamon and salt and sprinkled a small amount of sugar over the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
My friend & I teach together in a preschool classroom. I showed her this recipe & we decided to try this but we used Cinnamon/Sugar & Salt. What a hit! Out of 30 children 28 of them gobbled it right up & asked for more! Now the parents are requesting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
We liked this recipe a lot. Our pumpkin gave us probably 2 cups of seeds but we still used the original measurements for the salt (1 tsp) and cinnamon (1/2 tsp). I didn't wash my seeds (I don't see the point, and as long as they're freshly out of the pumpkin and still damp, seasonings will stick to the seeds without using oil). I just dumped them all onto a cookie tray, sprinkled the salt and cinnamon over them, and then mixed it all up until the seeds looked fairly evenly coated. Then I spread the seeds out and roasted as per the directions. They did stick a little bit to the tray, but were very easy to scrape off. It would never have occurred to me to try using cinnamon without sugar until I came across this recipe, but we really liked the flavor; salty-spiced without being overly sweet. I'd definitely make them this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States