Pumpkin Seeds with Cinnamon and Salt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I doubled the amount of salt and cinnamon. Turned out great, will use this recipe from now on. Also shared it with my co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Love the cinnamon flavour with the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Wow... I was actually nervous to try this But I had so many seeds this year that I figured "Why Not?" My whole family LOVED this recipe! My only complaint was not knowing how much salt or cinnamon to use... I had about 2 cups of seeds and I put them on a cookie sheet w/ foil. I didn't use any cooking spray. I sprinkled the enitre amount of seeds with cinnamon and I tried to cover most of the seeds. I was scared about the salt so I sprinkled about a tbs. of sugar over the seeds and than I lightly sprinkled the seeds w/ the salt (probably about a tsp of salt), than I cooked it for 10 mins, took it out.. stirred it around in the cookie sheet and put another heavy coating of cinnamon and this time added more salt than I did last time (probably more like a tbs) and I put it back in the oven for 20 more mins. I was surprised at how well the salt and cinnamon tasted w/ the seeds. I'm definatly making these from now on! Thanks Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
When I submitted this recipe I said I sprinkled the salt and cinnamon on librally and amounts were not given so FYI I usually sprinkle a healthy dose of cinnamon and sea salt all over the seeds. Hope this helps clarify a tad. If you don't get too much cinnamon add more if you put too much...add less it is all to taste. A smidge of sugar is also a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
A nice change from the norm....I wasn't shy with the cinnamon, because we love it. Will make again. Thanks Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I gave this recipe 5 stars because it was a great idea to build upon to your own tastes. I personally was not crazy about the original recipe. I took into account what some other review had said about adding extra cinnamon, so I had done that. I wanted to add sugar, but was concerned about them sticking together as on review said, so I sprinkled about 1/2 cup of sugar on them immediately after coming out of the oven and stirred quickly until cooled. Perfect! Sweet and cinnamon seeds. I also wouldn't do without the salt, but the original flavor was not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is a wonderful treat! I really liked the two flavors together. I think I'll add some sugar next time to try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Yum! I've never roasted pumpkin seeds before and I didn't think I'd like them but this recipe was great! The salt and cinnamon together is so good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
These were gone before they were even cool!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
We liked this recipe a lot. Our pumpkin gave us probably 2 cups of seeds but we still used the original measurements for the salt (1 tsp) and cinnamon (1/2 tsp). I didn't wash my seeds (I don't see the point, and as long as they're freshly out of the pumpkin and still damp, seasonings will stick to the seeds without using oil). I just dumped them all onto a cookie tray, sprinkled the salt and cinnamon over them, and then mixed it all up until the seeds looked fairly evenly coated. Then I spread the seeds out and roasted as per the directions. They did stick a little bit to the tray, but were very easy to scrape off. It would never have occurred to me to try using cinnamon without sugar until I came across this recipe, but we really liked the flavor; salty-spiced without being overly sweet. I'd definitely make them this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States