Pumpkin Seeds with Cinnamon and Salt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Not so good, sorry. Next year I'll just stick with the normal salted version. I wouldn't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I gave this recipe 5 stars because it was a great idea to build upon to your own tastes. I personally was not crazy about the original recipe. I took into account what some other review had said about adding extra cinnamon, so I had done that. I wanted to add sugar, but was concerned about them sticking together as on review said, so I sprinkled about 1/2 cup of sugar on them immediately after coming out of the oven and stirred quickly until cooled. Perfect! Sweet and cinnamon seeds. I also wouldn't do without the salt, but the original flavor was not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This was very tastey. I even added some sprinkles of white sugar. It balanced the taste out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
A nice change from the norm....I wasn't shy with the cinnamon, because we love it. Will make again. Thanks Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Not bad. I tried adding sugar, and they are pretty good, but it made them stick together as the sugar carmelized. I think I prefer the savory or plain recipes better, maybe I will try with no suger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
When I submitted this recipe I said I sprinkled the salt and cinnamon on librally and amounts were not given so FYI I usually sprinkle a healthy dose of cinnamon and sea salt all over the seeds. Hope this helps clarify a tad. If you don't get too much cinnamon add more if you put too much...add less it is all to taste. A smidge of sugar is also a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I was disappointed with the taste of these seeds. The cinnamon flavor didn't stand out as much as I would have liked. I also had thought about adding sugar as well, that is if I make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
My son was very excited to try these after carving our Halloween pumpkins, but I have to admit to being a little disappointed in the flavor. The cinnamon didn't stand out as much as I'd hoped. Maybe a little more salt - or maybe even some sugar - would have helped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
These seeds tasted good, i just didn't think they tasted that different from regular pumpkin seeds. i didn't have four cups of seeds, but still used the amount of cinnamon and salt the original recipe called for, but really couldn't taste the cinnamon that much. one thing i did do was spray the seeds with a little butter flavor cooking spray to try to get as much of the seasoning to stick as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Wow... I was actually nervous to try this But I had so many seeds this year that I figured "Why Not?" My whole family LOVED this recipe! My only complaint was not knowing how much salt or cinnamon to use... I had about 2 cups of seeds and I put them on a cookie sheet w/ foil. I didn't use any cooking spray. I sprinkled the enitre amount of seeds with cinnamon and I tried to cover most of the seeds. I was scared about the salt so I sprinkled about a tbs. of sugar over the seeds and than I lightly sprinkled the seeds w/ the salt (probably about a tsp of salt), than I cooked it for 10 mins, took it out.. stirred it around in the cookie sheet and put another heavy coating of cinnamon and this time added more salt than I did last time (probably more like a tbs) and I put it back in the oven for 20 more mins. I was surprised at how well the salt and cinnamon tasted w/ the seeds. I'm definatly making these from now on! Thanks Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States