Pumpkin Seed Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I didn't have pumpkin seeds so I used ground pecans. The sauce was delicious! We kept finding other things at the table to put it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
This was wonderful with the Pumpkin Ravioli...My family loved it..Great flavor,my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lissielou
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This sauce is delicious! Perfect for Fall! I toasted the pumpkin seeds first, then I blended them almost to a powder. I browned the onion, bread and garlic, then added the seed (powder) for a minute. I blended everything in my blender before heating it. I wanted it to be a smooth creamy sauce. I also cooked it on med low heat. It just wasn't getting warm enough on low heat. It turned out great! I will defiantly make this again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lissielou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made this with pecans instead of pumpkin seeds, as others suggested. It was good, not great. It went well with other foods though, such as french bread (dipped) and on leftover pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
omg! my sister made this sauce and it came out sooo good!! I'm going to make this myself now. The best sauce ever with steamed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mercedeeez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I went into making this sauce with high expectations. I was able to puree my seed mixture all right for a smooth texture, but my cream sauce ended up tasting an awful lot like chicken gravy. That could possibly be a result of using homemade broth rather than a can of store-bought (which is usually more bland), but it seemed like an awful lot of work to end up with chicken gravy topping my pumpkin ravioli! Definitely a major disappointment. Next time, I'll make either a regular alfredo-type cream sauce or a tomato-based sauce for my pumpkin ravioli. And if you've not already had it, the pumpkin ravioli is a must-try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This did need a lot of adjustment to make it much tastier. I served this with the suggested pairing of pumpkin ravioli from this site. As one suggested, I substituted pecans for the seeds (I can't imagine the seeds would have produced a good texture for a creamy sauce). I used milk instead of heavy cream (it was still plenty creamy this way). I used a slice of wheat bread instead of white and I omitted the peppers because we were out of them. I ended up adding about 3 Tbsp pumpkin puree and about 1 Tbsp tomato puree (I had extra from the ravioli recipe) to try and incorporate some of the flavors of the pasta and also to add flavor to the otherwise bland sauce. This also helped to thicken the sauce up a bit. With these adjustments, the sauce was not bad. The texture is a little odd, but not unpleasant. In the future I think we'll make the ravioli recipe but use a red sauce instead. It was worth the work to try the recipe once as-is, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Nice flavor, but I'm not real fond of pumpkin seeds. Next time I'l leave those out, ans the puree, while smooth, still has a grainy/chewy/gritty testure from the seeds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Well, I had to throw this out. Some of it maybe user error, but perhaps the directions could be stronger. 1.) It was way too salty. This could be because I used prepackaged pumpkin seeds that probably were already salted. Not stated in recipe, but should use seeds from a pumpkin to avoid this. 2.) Sauce was chewy. I tried to toast the seeds before I add the other ingredient, then processed them, but it still came out gritty, not smooth. Not something I could serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I love to cook, I am good at it, I love allrecipes...this, however, was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States