Pumpkin Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made these rolls for Thanksgiving dinner with the in-laws. Though I couldn't really taste the pumpkin, these rolls had a very good flavor - slightly sweet and moist. They were easy to make with my KitchenAid, a packet of yeast and my trusting candy thermometer. I referenced the info on the back of the yeast packet regarding how much to use in place of a yeast cake and what temperature to heat the milk/butter to proof the yeast. I'll be making these again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Very good. I'm sure the recipe is quite good as written, but I did make some changes. I used sweet potatoes in place of pumpkin (baked and mashed) and added a tsp of vanilla. The dough is very soft but easy to work with. I used the heavy-duty stand mixer and dough hook to knead, and it worked perfectly. I think I would prefer a bit more yeast and will probably use the dry next time as I would like them to be a little fluffier and dry seems to me to make lighter bread. But they were delicious and easy, and my family loved them. It's a keeper recipe. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I am not a bread maker. I am nervous about making anything with yeast, but I just had to try these. I'm so glad I did - they'll be on our Thanksgiving table for sure this year! So easy and tasty - they don't even need butter. By the way, I used two 1/4 oz packages of yeast and it worked out just fine. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandy Svensson
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I thought these were fabulous! I didn't know what "cake yeast" was (still don't), so I used regular. These went fast! Soft, moist, and perfect with some butter and a mild, white cheese! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Svensson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
MMMmmmm....tastey, soft and sweet. I used 1 1/2 Tbsp of rapid rise yeast. With rapid rice you don't need to proof the yeast, makes it alot easier. Just threw everything together all at once and mixed with the kitchenaid. I had to put in about 5 1/2 c of flour and bake at 375 because I live in Colorado in high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Excellent rolls, perfect for Thanksgiving! I used about 5 teaspoons of bulk yeast instead of the compressed cake...turned out fine. I love how you can get a vegetable into bread and your kids will never know! A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
These were a little more dense than I would like but I'm not sure I let them rise enough as I was crunched for time. I took GrannyLooWho's suggestion to proof the yeast first & I used a packet of active yeast instead of the cake. The flavor was awesome...especially when spread w/ Shed's Spread Country Crock Pumpkin Spice spread (don't normally use anything but real butter but the seasonal appeal of this spread enticed me). We enjoyed these rolls very much...thanks Karen Rummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I proofed the yeast in about 1/4 cup warm water plus 1 teaspoon sugar, then added a little extra flour and everything else according to the recipe to make a rich, heavy dough. It made a golden orange roll, slightly dense with a sweet and delicate flavor. I'm making these for Thanksgiving. They are delicious and well worth giving a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Absolutely delicious. A great addition to a turkey dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Perfect rolls for turkey or ham dinner! Moist and flavorfull, and a beautiful rich golden orange color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States