Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
One very important detail that is not spelled out in this recipe and I learned the hard way. After you bake the cake part of it, let it cool a minute or two while still in the pan. Loosen edges and then turn pan upside down over your powder-sugared towels. When you roll it up, ROLL THE TOWEL IN WITH IT. This is where my problem was. I have never made a jelly roll or roll-up dessert and didn't know. Also the cake was too warm and it fell apart. I'll know better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This was AMAZING!!! It sounds a little harder then what it is but it is phenominal. It looked cool and i actually felt like I had some culenary skills once it was done...the kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. As easy as a cake mix and turned out perfect... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This is my boyfriend's favorite childhood dessert. I found the recipe on this site and have been making it for him ever since. It is always delicious! We've done it with and without the nuts, and it is better with. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This is one of my favorite recipes. My family can't get enough of this. It is also requested at work for our lunches we have. I followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This is really yummy! Great anytime, but best at Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Big hit with my family at Thanksgiving. They were very impressed with how it looked, as well as how it tasted! The cake did crack in a few spots when I rolled it, but it wasn't very noticeable, and it certainly didn't affect the taste. I did omit the nuts, just because my husband doesn't care for them, but I'm sure it would be great with them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Here's a hint...place wax paper on the bottom of the cookie sheet before you bake it and just flip it onto to towel, roll and cool. The wax paper prevents "rips" or "tears" in the cake and makes the cake much easier to work with. I also used pumpkin all spice instead of ginger and it does seem to add a little more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This is an OK version of pumpkin roll, but it doesn't have much flavor. It seems much to bland. Overall, it is ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
this is really easy and tastes great, I used a tsp. pumpkin pie spice instead of the ginger and it is to awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEA

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States