Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I really love this recipe and so does my family. When rolling up the pumpkin roll on the towel be ver generous with the powdered sugar, if not the roll will stick to the towel. If making the roll the night before just wrap up the roll on ceramic wrap and when you are ready for your dessert just take out of refrigerator and sprinkle with powdered sugar and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
THis was absolutely a favorite in my house. I used pumpkin pie spice in place of the individual spices and I used real vanilla in the filling. I froze one but it didn't stay in the freezer for long. I plan on making a few to share during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I've been making this roll for years and it is wonderful. ChattyKat, thanks for the tip on rolling in the wax paper. I never thought of that. I've been using the towel method and it's tricky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I just made a "practice" pumpkin roll. It came out fantastic! I did use wax paper to line the pan. When it was done, I used a knife along the edges to loosen the cake from the wax paper. I carried the cake with the wax paper attached to the counter. Holding onto the wax paper extending from the sides, I slowly rolled it up. The cream cheese filling was easy to make. After the cake cooled, it was easy to unroll (with the wax paper still attached)..I spread the filling then rolled it back up, peeling the wax paper off as I went. Hubby asked why it doesn't break and I think it's the texture of the cake that helps. It has a denser texture than a traditional layer cake.That, in addition to rolling it while it's warm is the key. I've been thinking of making one of these since Junior High Home Ec class where the first one I saw was made by Mrs. Griffith. So, if you have been thinking of tackling making a cake roll, I highly recommend this recipe. It's a great place to start! (and very delicious, too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was the first time I tried to make a Pumpkin Roll. It was wonderful. The roll may not have been perfect, but the taste was delicious! I will definitely be adding this recipe to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Vincent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I just made this, came out great!! I baked it on greased wax paper and came off super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I have been making this recipe for many many years, and have learned a few tricks that make it even easier- put waxed paper down on your cookie sheet and spray with pam before putting batter on it to bake. be sure to loosen edges after letting cool for a few minutes before rolling. Lastly, I always roll my finished pumpkin roll up in waxed paper and freeze it until I am ready to serve. It will last for up to a month in freezer when properly packaged. (After it is cut, it thaws rather quickly) It is much much easier to cut the roll after it has been frozen (I use a bread knife) Hope this is helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Cooks Alot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
My first try and I couldn't be happier. It turned out great! Very simple recipe, it even came off the cookie sheet with very minimal sticking...unnoticeable. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out great! Everybody wanted this recipe after I made it for Thanksgiving last year. I'll be making it again and will be a traditional dish at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was the recipe i have made for years...delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiec

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States