Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I tried this yesterday. First time ever making a pumpkin roll. I found that wrapping it in wax paper instead of a towel makes it sweat and nasty. Will use a towel next time. I used parchment paper to line my pan and the cake flipped right off. I LOVE parchment paper. Also, I used Splenda instead of real sugar. Maybe that was the problem. Or, maybe my baking powder is too old. I don't know, but it turned out terrible. But, I am going to get new baking powder and use real sugar and a towel next time. I love pumpkin rolls, just not mine. I hate to even give this a rating since I think it was all my own fault it didn't turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Made just as written, excellent! Dusted with icing sugar after and served each slice with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I have used this recipe for years. The only changes I made was to add some fresh ground ginger...about a teaspoon and a half teaspoon of cloves and a teaspoon of fresh ground nutmeg. I used parchment (that I sprayed with PAM and lightly floured. I get rave reviews for this pumpkin roll. People think it is very difficult to make...I let them think that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I make this for my husband to surprise him and boy, does he love it!! It's helped my marriage :) This is delicious!! I love it too! I have made it quite a few times and will be making it many more times I'm sure. Thanks for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Elfering

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I love this recipe. More importantly my biyfriends picky eaters love this recipe. Between us there are 7 children who want me to make this recipe every chance I can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Had a little trouble with cracking but no one could tell or would of cared. This Roll is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nuttamonly
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I really love this on so much!!! I use a wax paper lay over the cookies sheet. It's so easy to come off. I have some idea, you can separate some of the battle, put the food color in it and make a zebra or any pattern you want on your roll, put it in the oven let it set for 4 minutes then pour the normal battle on it and follow the normal recipe ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadderholt
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I cooked two of these for a "Holiday Treat Week" I did at work this past week. This recipe was my..Big Finale!.. and I'm glad I waited until Friday. This recipe was absolutely spot on and delicious. I might also say it was my first time to try this particular dessert but most people would have never been able to tell given the direction and accuracy of the recipe. Definitely worth the time, energy, and resources!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadderholt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
A little hard to follow instructions if you have never made a log before. Had trouble with how to roll it. My spiral wasn't perfect, but it did taste the same. Just not real pretty. Next time I will change how I rolled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have always used the powdered sugar on a towel method, and powdered sugar gets all over everything. So this time I used the wax paper and rolled it up in the wax paper. Big mistake! I am annoyed with myself for not realizing that with no towel to absorb the steam, the cake would get soggy. I had a terrible time getting the cake unrolled, it split on me, and I finally did get it rolled back up but it looks awful. Not sure how it going to taste since it was soggy. Back to the powdered sugar and towel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States