Pumpkin Roll with Toffee Cream Filling and Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made this Pumpkin Roll and another from this website side by side trying to decide which to bring to Thanksgiving this year, this one won hands down. It was so delicious and the filling is light and fluffy, not too sweet. I think next time I'll add pumpkin spice to the mix, possibly to the filling just to give it a little extra and I think I'll make about 1/3 more filling. I would just say to be sure to get the caramel they say in the recipe, I could not find it anywhere so I just bought caramel candies and melted them down, such a pain, hardened so fast I couldn't even drizzle before it cooled. I love the toffee as a change of texture in the dish. Also I only waiting 20mins with the cake wrapped in the damp dish towel (That's the length of time on the other recipe) and it was still pretty warm when I unrolled it, didn't crack anywhere! I didn't force it, just unrolled it enough to get the filling in there and quickly but carefully rolled it back up before it cooled. So delicious and it looks fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Campbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Texas, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ju-ju
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
this is absolutely delicious! everyone loved it! the only thing i did was add more rum to the recipe. followed some advice and brushed rum on the cake before adding the filling. amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ju-ju

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
it was bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very difficult to make. But if you're a good baker, maybe it's easy for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
spongy cake. Used traditional cream cheese filling instead of whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is totally awesome. I have made it twice since finding it and have received nothing but raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I seem to be the only one disappointed in this recipe! I have been trying to find a Pumpkin Roll recipe that rivals one I tasted years ago in the Bahamas. It was made by a local resident and was out of this world! The cake portion was very dark in color, and that is why I chose this recipe because it looked dark compared to other recipes I've made. Well, mind didn't come out dark at all. It was much lighter in color and I didn't like the texture of it at all. I thought it was very bland also. I've made other pumpking rolls with a cream cheese filling which I prefer over this toffee cream filling. I just was not impressed with this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I love this cake! It's a family favorite. Easy to make, yet VERY impressive! The most recent time I made it, we were making caramel ice cream to complement an apple, pie so I decided to substitute the ice cream rather than use the caramel sauce. It was a terrific substitute. The first time I made this, I was intimidated by the whole rolling part, but it's not an issue at all. Just remove the cake from the pan almost immediately upong removing from the oven. It slips right out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zeveck
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made one for home and four for work and all five were devoured. It's rather sweet, and the rolling is a bit tricky, but the result was delicious and it will surely be made again. Used Captain Morgan's for the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeveck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I finally found it!!!! I have been looking for a Pumpkin Roll recipe that would rival the one that I got from a very upscale restaurant. I moved and misplaced the recipe - I was just sick about it. Then I discovered this recipe and decided to give it a try. I'm so glad that I did!! It is incredible!! Just like the one that I used to make!! This is an absolute family favorite - something that I must make several times in the fall. I had no problems whatsoever making this pumpkin roll. I did use a couple of other review suggestions, but other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States